Hatena recorded a JPY74 million provision for its digital-gift shareholder reward programme in the financial year ended July 31, 2026, saying the amount exceeded its initial expectation.

The Japanese internet-services company disclosed the charge as a non-operating expense on September 11. It said the estimate reflected assumptions about use of the benefit and related factors. The filing does not disclose the earlier estimated amount, so the size of the increase cannot be calculated. [S01]

The provision is a newly reported financial consequence of an existing gift programme. It is not evidence that JPY74 million has already been redeemed by shareholders or received as revenue by the reward provider.

From an anniversary award to a reported expense

Hatena approved the one-time benefit on April 14 to mark ten years since its stock-market listing. Its original announcement said the expected impact on the year's results was minor. The September disclosure updates that assessment with a quantified charge. [S01] [S02]

Under the April terms, shareholders with at least 300 shares on the July-end register qualify for JPY25,000 through Digital Gift, a service supplied by the Digital Plus group. This award has no continuous-holding requirement. Hatena said its purpose was to thank shareholders and make ownership of its shares more attractive; the documents do not establish that the programme increased shareholder numbers. [S02] [S03]

Distribution was planned for October, through instructions enclosed with the shareholders' meeting notice. Recipients would select their preferred reward online within a specified selection period. Anticipated choices included Amazon Gift Card, au PAY Gift Card and QUO Card Pay, alongside payment balances, points and other options, with the range subject to change. [S02]

That choice mechanism separates the sponsor's promised award from the eventual reward selected. The financial provision estimates the obligation associated with the programme; the reviewed release does not disclose recipient numbers, actual selections, redemption rates or provider fees.

A separate item within wider results

Hatena operates content platforms, content marketing and technology services. It reported annual revenue of JPY3.647 billion and operating profit of JPY173 million. Ordinary profit was JPY103 million, while the net result was a JPY995 million loss. [S01] [S04]

The same filing separately identifies a JPY1.221 billion special loss connected with an earlier funds-outflow incident and a JPY241 million deferred-tax-asset write-off. Those items should not be attributed to the gift programme. The JPY74 million benefit provision is one distinct expense within the wider financial disclosure.

September's announcement changes the information available about the cost estimate, rather than the JPY25,000 reward terms. Hatena has not announced a repeat annual award in these documents or reported how much of the promised value shareholders ultimately used.