The Totsuka shopping-street federation reported on September 25 that its premium electronic shopping voucher issue had sold out. Purchasers can continue using their balances at 115 member stores until December 6, according to the operator.
The announcement confirms completion of the sales stage, rather than a new programme launch. Sales opened at noon on September 15, as specified in the original July 31 programme announcement. A September 10 notice repeated that earlier launch information.
The original terms set a JPY5,000 purchase price for JPY6,250 of voucher value, a 25% premium. Each set allocates JPY3,750 exclusively to independent merchants and JPY2,500 to a common component accepted across participating stores, including those independent merchants. The latest notice does not disclose the number of units sold or the exact time stock was exhausted.
How one Totsuka voucher set allocates spending value
Actual entitlement components of a JPY6,250 electronic voucher set bought for JPY5,000.
JPY per voucher set
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
Entitlement allocation, not actual merchant redemptions or market shares. Independent merchants may also accept the common component. Final sales quantity and redemption totals were not disclosed.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | JPY per voucher set |
|---|---|
| Independent-merchant-only component | 3,750 JPY per voucher set |
| Common component | 2,500 JPY per voucher set |
The reported sellout therefore establishes an inventory result for this local stored-value programme. It does not establish total merchant revenue, completed redemptions or an independently measured increase in shopping activity.