Digital gift cards are already a practical product across much of the Middle East and North Africa. The harder questions are where the evidence supports a market-size claim, what a recipient can redeem, and which rules apply to the organisation holding the value. This study addresses those questions separately across 22 markets, with two interactive maps, country profiles, comparable tables, Statista consumer data and primary regulatory sources.
The strongest observable regional pattern is a shared distribution layer over distinct local products. A platform can advertise several countries while the gift itself remains denominated in one currency, restricted to one country and subject to a particular merchant's expiry and refund terms. Electronic delivery does not make value borderless. A GCC-wide corporate programme may therefore require six local catalogues, several contractual issuers and different regulatory analyses.
The market estimates also need careful interpretation. Public commercial reports use different geographic boundaries and product definitions. Some country figures cannot be reconciled with a regional report from the same research publisher. This study preserves the published figures and identifies those conflicts. It does not turn them into a synthetic MENA total or invent numbers for countries with no comparable public series.
Research date: 18 September 2026. Market numbers are attributed commercial estimates or forecasts, rather than audited national sales. Product terms establish documented availability, not adoption. Legal sections identify relevant rules and classification questions, not a determination that a particular provider holds every required permission.
How to read this research atlas
MENA has no single universal membership list. This editorial atlas covers Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Turkey, Pakistan and Malta are outside this study. A commercial report that includes Turkey or covers only the six GCC countries consequently measures a different geography.
Western Sahara appears separately as geographic context and receives no market value in the dataset. Boundaries and labels are for navigation and do not express a position on sovereignty. Natural Earth supplies the geographic outlines; the research team supplies the evidence categories. Every country remains selectable, including those with missing quantitative observations. [S01]
T01. What each measure means
Show data tableHide data table
| Measure | Meaning in this study | What it cannot establish |
|---|---|---|
| Total gift-card market estimate | A research publisher's estimate covering its defined gift-card universe | Virtual-only sales, provider revenue or independently audited national turnover |
| Digital-only market estimate | A publisher's explicitly electronic-gift-card series | A share of another publisher's total without compatible definitions |
| Intended gift purchase | A respondent's stated plan within a particular occasion and survey population | Completed purchase, annual adoption or transaction value |
| Prepaid-card and voucher usage | Statista's broader payment-method category | Gift-card-only penetration or share of payment spending |
| Documented digital programme | Primary product material supports electronic issuance, delivery or use in a named market | National demand, regulatory approval or exhaustive provider coverage |
| Imported-code distribution | A local seller offers a foreign-market merchant or entertainment code | Domestic issuance, local-currency liability or universal local redemption |
| No verified observation | The reviewed sources did not establish the requested fact | A zero market or absence of lawful activity |
Map 1 groups the available 2025 country estimates into transparent value bands. It is an atlas of attributed figures, not a ranking of independently measured demand. Map 2 classifies the type of programme evidence. Its colours say what was documented, not how mature or attractive a country is. Country panels link directly to supporting sources and the relevant section of the article.
Additional country numbers: markets, recipients and programme terms
The following tables expand the country evidence with commercial forecasts, original survey results, issuer disclosures and product parameters. Each answers a different question. A denomination is an amount offered on a card; a balance cap is a contractual ceiling; a respondent percentage is an opinion or reported experience; an issuer count describes one business. None substitutes for national sales. Missing country totals remain unfilled.
T02. Additional market estimates and growth indicators
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | Metric | Figure | Observation or forecast period | Source and scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oman | Total gift-card market | USD1.38bn | 2025 estimate | IMARC Group [S96], commercial estimate |
| Oman | Total gift-card market | USD4.32bn | 2034 forecast | IMARC, separate publisher series |
| Oman | Forecast CAGR | 12.99% | 2026-2034 | IMARC reported rate |
| Oman | E-gift-card share | 65% | 2025 | IMARC format segmentation |
| Oman | Closed-loop share | 58% | 2025 | IMARC card-type segmentation |
| Oman | Food-and-beverage share | 22% | 2025 | IMARC application segmentation |
| Oman | Retail end-user share | 70% | 2025 | IMARC customer segmentation |
| Oman | Muscat regional share | 45% | 2025 | IMARC region, not city-proper sales |
| Qatar | Forecast gift-card CAGR | More than 16.60% | 2024-2029 | Bonafide Research [S97]; older forecast, no absolute size disclosed |
| Saudi Arabia | Share of publisher's regional market | 43.87% | 2025 | Mordor Intelligence [S03]; gift and incentive cards, six GCC countries |
| Saudi Arabia | Country-segment forecast CAGR | 15% | 2026-2031 | Same Mordor universe |
| United Arab Emirates | Estimated historical CAGR | 11.3% | 2021-2025 | |
| United Arab Emirates | Forecast annual growth | 10.5% | 2026 | Same PayNXT360 vintage |
| United Arab Emirates | Forecast CAGR | 9.9% | 2026-2030 | Same PayNXT360 vintage |
| Iran | Digital-only market estimate | USD271.74m | 2024 | Mordor Intelligence [S33], digital/e-gift cards |
IMARC's public methodology is limited, and its stated forecast rate is not reconciled to its endpoints. No intervening years are calculated. Its five segment percentages concern different denominators and must not be added. The Saudi percentage belongs to Mordor's GCC coverage, not this atlas's MENA definition. Qatar's figure describes a forecast published for an earlier period, not observed 2026 growth. Iran's extra observation extends its digital-only series without dividing it by another publisher's total.
T03. More usable numbers for Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain and Oman
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | Programme | Numeric parameter | What the number describes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kuwait | KWD10-KWD100 | Email gift-card denominations; online domestic redemption with retained balance; expiry not verified. [S16] | |
| Kuwait | Blue | KWD5-KWD1,000; 12 months | Programme load range and validity, not a national limit. [S30] |
| Qatar | Blue | QAR50-QAR10,000; 12 months | Country-specific programme range and validity |
| Bahrain | Blue | BHD5-BHD1,000; 12 months | Country-specific programme range and validity |
| Oman | Blue | OMR5-OMR1,000; 12 months | Country-specific programme range and validity |
| Bahrain | Seef Properties eGift | BHD1,000 | Maximum outstanding card balance; the same amount caps a single Benefit gateway transaction. [S99] |
| Bahrain | Seef Properties eGift | BHD200 per transfer per day | User-to-user transfer provision, not a nationwide payment ceiling |
| UAE | Blue | 2%, capped at AED500 per wallet per year | Eligible direct-issued card top-up bonus; corporate orders and third-party distributor cards are excluded |
These numbers provide concrete purchasing parameters even where national volumes are unavailable. Blue's common conditions permit partial spending and restrict redemption to the issuing country. Seef's figures describe its virtual-card application. They do not apply automatically to other Bahraini issuers. Currency ranges are retained in their original units and are not ranked by purchasing power.
T04. Quantitative programme evidence across North Africa
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | Programme | Figures | Interpretation and limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Egypt | noon electronic vouchers | EGP50-EGP5,000; maximum 20 cards per purchase; one-year redemption period | Operational terms, not measured demand. [S65] |
| Morocco | iris.ma gift cards | MAD300-MAD2,000; 12 months | Retail range; email or physical delivery; corporate digital values can be customised. [S100] |
| Morocco | Decathlon gift cards | MAD50-MAD5,000; 24 months | Physical collection is described; not evidence of virtual issuance. [S71] |
| Tunisia | Pluxee Chèque Cadeau | More than 4,000 points of sale; 12 months | Provider-reported gift-cheque acceptance and validity, not unique brands or digital-card users. [S74] |
| Libya | BeautyExpress digital gift card | LYD1,000 | Merchant face value; recipient-email delivery and use across multiple orders advertised. [S101] |
| Libya | Nuran Bank Rikaz Gift Card | LYD20 issue price; six months | Issue fee and validity, not funded face value; local POS and online use. [S102] |
| Libya | Nuran Bank VISA Net Gift Card | USD20 issue price; no annual fee; one-year validity | Separate bank product; format not established as virtual-only. [S103] |
| Libya | Same VISA Net product | USD1-USD750 monthly cash deposits; USD1 purchase fee | Product loading range and fee, not national spending or gift-card sales |
| Algeria | Kiabi announced cards | DZD3,000 / DZD6,000 / DZD10,000 | Still labelled coming soon and store-only; excluded from verified active digital programmes. [S78] |
The new Libyan merchant evidence changes the programme map: Libya now has documented local digital gift delivery, alongside foreign-code distribution. This is a change in the evidence classification, not a market-size estimate. Morocco's iris.ma evidence likewise establishes an explicit emailed format alongside the previously documented Decathlon offer. No additional defensible national gift-card series was established for Djibouti, Mauritania or Sudan.
T05. Israel: issuer-reported gift behaviour and values
Show data tableHide data table
| Provider observation | Figure | Year | Meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| BUYME employee gifts sent | 2,057,174 | 2024 | Programme gifts, not unique employees |
| Mean employee gift, law firms | ILS441.5 | 2024 | Employer-sector average within BUYME |
| Mean employee gift, startups | ILS386.4 | 2024 | Same programme universe |
| Mean employee gift, MedTech | ILS343.7 | 2024 | Same programme universe |
| Selected redemption categories | Fashion 53.02%; home 19.44%; food 11.65%; birth 4.70% | 2024 | Non-exhaustive; monetary denominator not specified |
| Birthdays, births and major holidays | About 55% | 2025 | Share of BUYME gifts |
| Other occasions | About 45% | 2025 | Complementary occasion category |
| Senders including a greeting | More than 70% | 2025 | Sender behaviour |
| Senders including photo or video | About 40% | 2025 | Sender behaviour |
Sources: BUYME's 2024 employee-gift review [S104] and 2025 platform review [S105]. These self-reported operational figures add a different perspective from national commercial estimates. Sector means do not reveal the distribution of gift values or market-wide averages.
T06. Other Levant markets: amounts, fees and restrictions
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | Instrument | Numeric evidence | Boundary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Iraq | Locally issued prepaid gift cards | IQD150,000 maximum per card | |
| Iraq | Same regulated product | IQD1,000,000 per phone number per month | Activation-value ceiling; not foreign entertainment-code resale |
| Jordan | Dumyah voucher | JOD100; no fee; no expiry | Retained balance; merchant-only spending; delivery format not established. [S106] |
| Lebanon | Feel22 Premium | USD25 / 50 / 75 / 100 / 150; one year; one use | Value cannot be split across orders. [S48] |
| Palestine | USD5 / 10 / 20 / 50 face values | Foreign-issuer codes; local resale is not local issuance. [S52] | |
| Palestine | Same listed codes | ILS26 / 52 / 101 / 243.5 respectively | Advertised retail prices, not an exchange-rate series or completed transactions |
Syria's mixed digital-product catalogue count and Yemen's app-download threshold were excluded from these gift-card figures because they cannot establish gift-only transactions or local users. This keeps measurable programme terms separate from misleading substitutes for market demand. The source register records those exclusions.
T07. Original YouGov and YOUGotaGift consumer comparisons
Show data tableHide data table
| Survey measure | UAE | Saudi Arabia |
|---|---|---|
| Prefer gift card over traditional gift | 62% | 67% |
| Same preference among nationals | 77% | 68% |
| Same preference among expatriates | 60% | 65% |
| Prefer gift card over traditional corporate gift | 68% | 78% |
| Same corporate preference among nationals | 77% | 77% |
| Same corporate preference among expatriates | 67% | 78% |
| Corporate preference, higher-income group | 76% above AED10,000 | 82% above SAR5,000 |
| Have bought or received a gift card | 66% | 61% |
| Prefer digital over physical gift cards | 54% | Not shown |
| Digital preference among UAE nationals / expatriates | 63% / 53% | Not shown |
| Digital preference, UAE age 18-44 / 45+ | 54% / 49% | Not shown |
| Gift-card versus traditional-gift preference, Saudi age 25-44 / 45+ | Not shown | 72% / 61% |
| Full online survey sample | 1,004 respondents | 1,006 respondents |
The original UAE infographic [S107] and Saudi infographic [S108] were visually read. Fieldwork ran from 20 to 27 February 2024; publication was 3 April 2024. Subgroup bases and uncertainty intervals are not supplied in the infographics. The age rows ask different questions and must not be compared as digital adoption. Preferences and reported experience are not sales, and these observations do not update the historical Statista series.
T08. Cross-border digital gifting observed by one platform
Show data tableHide data table
| Destination | Sending countries recorded | Observation window | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| United Arab Emirates | 140 | Twelve months covered by the July 2023 publication | YOUGotaGift internal transactions |
| Saudi Arabia | 76 | Same publication window | YOUGotaGift internal transactions |
The platform's cross-border analysis [S109] describes geographic sender reach. It does not disclose the number or value of gifts in this table, represent every issuer, or establish permission to redeem a gift across borders. The observation is historical, not a 2026 count.
Why the regional forecasts do not produce one MENA total
T09. Regional report definitions and published values
Show data tableHide data table
| Publisher and vintage | Published report coverage | 2025 estimate | 2026 forecast | Later forecast | Comparability limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayNXT360, January 2026 bundle | Middle East report plus Iran, Israel, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and UAE country reports | USD8.7bn | USD9.6bn | USD13.6bn in 2030 | Country estimates do not reconcile with the regional figure; bundle includes a Turkey report |
| Mordor Intelligence, updated 11 September 2026 | Explicit segmentation lists the six GCC countries | USD24.94bn | USD27.14bn | USD41.39bn in 2031 | Gift and incentive cards; geography differs from this 22-market atlas |
Sources: PayNXT360 regional report listing [S02]; Mordor Intelligence regional report [S03].
The disagreement is too large to present as a normal confidence interval. More fundamentally, the products and country sets differ. An average of the two would have no defensible denominator. Nor is it reasonable to apply one publisher's digital share to another publisher's country total.
There is also an unresolved reconciliation problem. The selected PayNXT360 country estimates for Israel, Saudi Arabia and the UAE alone exceed that publisher's USD8.7 billion regional 2025 figure. The Israeli country listing reports USD7,359.6 million, while the dated Saudi and UAE releases report USD1.85 billion and USD2.20 billion respectively. This is an arithmetic conflict requiring publisher clarification, not evidence that the missing countries have negative value. The country map labels these as attributed estimates and does not calculate regional shares. [S04]
Editorial analysis: the useful commercial conclusion is that vendor forecasts support investigating a sizeable category, while primary product and legal evidence is more dependable for deciding how a specific programme can operate. The country profiles therefore spend as much attention on acceptance, issuance and restrictions as on headline size. A purchaser evaluating a large investment should obtain the full definitions and a reconciled country workbook before using these numbers in a financial model.
Consumer evidence: gift intent and payment behaviour measure different things
Two kinds of consumer research help explain the opportunity without pretending to measure the same phenomenon. Occasion surveys ask what people intend to give or would like to receive. Payment-method surveys ask which instruments people have used. These sources answer different questions; their percentages cannot be added or used interchangeably.
T10. Eid gift-card intentions in Saudi Arabia and the UAE
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | 2024 gift-card intention | 2025 gift-card intention | Gift-planner base, 2024 | Gift-planner base, 2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Arab Emirates | 36% | 34% | 478 | 457 | -2 percentage points |
| Saudi Arabia | 31% | 31% | 478 | 446 | 0 percentage points |
Toluna's 2025 Ramadan and Eid study supplies these observations for respondents planning gifts. The online fieldwork ran from 24 to 29 January 2025 among people aged 18-60; the prior-year comparison was fielded from 19 to 24 January 2024. The overall 2025 samples were 510 in the UAE and 500 in Saudi Arabia, larger than the gift-planner subsets shown above. These are intentions for an occasion, not measured purchases. [S05]
F02. Intentions to give gift cards for Eid
Toluna gift-planner subsets in two countries, 2024 and 2025.
% of gift planners
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
Source
Occasion intentions, not completed purchases; physical and digital cards are not separated. 2024 bases: 478 each; 2025 UAE: 457, Saudi Arabia: 446. Ages 18-60; online. Differences are not established as statistically significant.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| United Arab Emirates | 36 % of gift planners | 34 % of gift planners |
| Saudi Arabia | 31 % of gift planners | 31 % of gift planners |
The two-point UAE movement should not be described as a proven market decline. The public table does not establish the statistical significance of that difference, and a seasonal intention measure cannot explain annual issuance. What it does show is that gift cards were a recognisable gifting option in both samples. Merchants can investigate recipients' choices, rather than assuming that digital availability automatically displaces cash, perfume, clothing or other gifts.
T11. Statista: prepaid cards and vouchers by channel
Show data tableHide data table
| Observation | Saudi Arabia, physical POS | Saudi Arabia, online | UAE, physical POS | UAE, online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 18% | 25% | Not shown | Not shown |
| 2020 | 20% | 25% | 16% | 18% |
| 2021 | 18% | 24% | 16% | 19% |
| 2022 | 21% | 30% | 17% | 18% |
| 2023 | 24% | 29% | 16% | 20% |
Source: authenticated Statista Consumer Insights tables for Saudi Arabia [S06] and the United Arab Emirates [S07], accessed on 18 September 2026. Both pages were published on 7 February 2024 and identify April 2023 as the release date. The displayed latest fieldwork runs from 4 April 2022 to 17 March 2023. Statista describes the residential online population aged 18-64, 12,000+ respondents per country, rolling twelve-month responses and multiple selections.
F03. Statista: prepaid-card and voucher use by channel
Historical Consumer Insights observations. This broader payment category is not restricted to gift cards.
% of respondents
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
Residential online population aged 18-64; 12,000+ per country; rolling 12 months; multiple answers. Latest displayed fieldwork: 4 April 2022 to 17 March 2023. Published 7 February 2024. Not 2026 adoption, transaction share or gift-card-only penetration.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Saudi Arabia online | Saudi Arabia physical POS | UAE online | UAE physical POS |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 25 % of respondents | 20 % of respondents | 18 % of respondents | 16 % of respondents |
| 2021 | 24 % of respondents | 18 % of respondents | 19 % of respondents | 16 % of respondents |
| 2022 | 30 % of respondents | 21 % of respondents | 18 % of respondents | 17 % of respondents |
| 2023 | 29 % of respondents | 24 % of respondents | 20 % of respondents | 16 % of respondents |
This is useful historical channel context, with a deliberately narrow interpretation: respondents could select prepaid cards and vouchers among the methods they had used. It is neither a spending allocation nor a measure restricted to gifts. The 2023 values cannot be relabelled as 2026 adoption just because the pages were accessed in 2026. Likewise, a difference between Saudi and UAE survey responses does not establish which country generated more gift-card value.
Editorial analysis: the practical implication for product design is to connect delivery with redemption. An email recipient may want an online checkout, while an employer may want a reward usable in a physical store. A digital message with an incompatible redemption channel can still fail the recipient. Product research should therefore ask about the intended merchant, channel and occasion as well as the attractiveness of receiving a code.
T12. Evidence that should remain separate in a commercial presentation
Show data tableHide data table
| Research question | Suitable evidence | Inappropriate substitution |
|---|---|---|
| Have respondents reported using this broader payment category? | Historical Statista prepaid/voucher responses, with their exact scope | Calling the series gift-card ownership |
| Will people consider gift cards for Eid? | Toluna's gift-planner intention observations | Calling intentions completed transactions |
| Can an employee receive and spend this reward locally? | Current issuer and merchant terms | A platform's global brand count |
| How much value was issued nationally? | A reconciled issuance dataset or clearly attributed market estimate | Smartphone ownership, e-commerce sales or cashless-payment share |
| Will this programme remain usable after expiry or failed delivery? | Contractual terms and applicable local law | Another country's consumer rules |
No general digital-payment or population metric is used to fill missing gift-card observations on either map. This preserves the distinction between a market that lacks public measurement and a market that has no activity.
Where digital gift programmes are documented
The second map distinguishes local digital delivery or redemption, historical local programmes, advertised distribution of foreign codes, incomplete or announced evidence, and unverified availability. The details explain the exact scope for each country.
F04. Documented gift programmes and distribution routes
Explore the type of programme evidence found for each country. Local digital delivery or redemption is distinguished from historical programmes, imported-code listings and gaps. A programme listing does not establish completed fulfilment, national adoption or regulatory approval.
Research as of
Hover to preview a country. Click, tap or use the selector to keep its details open. Press Escape or choose the empty option to resume hover previews.
Two-letter country codes identify the selectable areas. Small countries have callout labels. Western Sahara (EH) is shown separately without a market value. Boundaries and labels do not express a position on sovereignty.
Explore the country-by-country evidence.
Select a country to read its classification, details and underlying sources.
Each country links to its full analysis below.
Algeria
Kiabi Algeria gift card; Zara Algeria gift-card payment option
Kiabi Algeria gift card: DZD 3,000/6,000/10,000; explicitly forthcoming; store-only offer. Not active coverage. Zara Algeria gift-card payment option: Local help includes gift-card payment and refund credits; new gift-value sale and virtual issuance not established.
Bahrain
Blue; Alshaya eGift; YOUGotaGift; Seef Properties virtual gift cards.
Blue’s range is BHD5-BHD1,000 with 12-month validity. Seef’s app terms cap outstanding balance at BHD1,000 and user-to-user transfers at BHD200 per transfer per day. These are programme-specific limits. Bahrain’s February 2026 payment-service document was a consultation proposal; final adoption was not verified.
Djibouti
Hablax Djibouti Yalla Ludo catalogue
Hablax Djibouti Yalla Ludo catalogue: Country-labelled USD catalogue. Not evidence of a Djiboutian gift issuer or local retail acceptance.
Egypt
noon Egypt gift card; B-Tech eGift card; Amazon.eg gift card
noon Egypt gift card: EGP50-5,000; code redeemable within one year; noon.com Egypt; funds become credits usable over purchases. B-Tech eGift card: Egyptian store redemption described by eGifter Rewards; issuer-specific terms not independently retrieved. Amazon.eg gift card: Bidali identifies Souq.com for E-Commerce LLC; direct Amazon terms returned 503. noon’s Egyptian electronic vouchers range from EGP50 to EGP5,000; up to 20 cards may be purchased in one transaction, with a one-year redemption period.
Iran
Digikala: merchant digital gift card
Digikala (merchant digital gift card): Primary-authored report retrieved from mirror; current direct issuer terms unavailable.
Iraq
ZainCash: digital entertainment and gift-code distribution
ZainCash (digital entertainment and gift-code distribution): Wallet PIN confirmation. Catalogue includes iTunes, Shahid VIP, Supercell, PUBG, Careem. Foreign code distribution is not automatically a domestic payment gift card.
Israel
BUYME: multi-merchant digital gift vouchers
BUYME (multi-merchant digital gift vouchers): Digital SMS/email code. Monetary vouchers support repeated redemption. Minimum 60-month monetary-voucher validity and specified extension rights. Redemption at participating merchants in Israel. Experience vouchers have distinct terms; issuer's licensing-exemption statement is not a legal opinion. BUYME reports 2,057,174 employee gifts in 2024; this is its own programme volume, not unique recipients or national sales.
Jordan
Arab Bank: Arabi eGift local merchant QR voucher; Arab Bank: Third-party eVouchers
Arab Bank (Arabi eGift local merchant QR voucher): Sender funds from account, credit card or points. Recipient mobile OTP. QR redemption at participating Arab Bank POS merchants. Public expiry/refund schedule not retrieved. Arab Bank (Third-party eVouchers): Third-party vendor operates service. Region must match chosen voucher. Share by messaging or email Dumyah separately lists a JOD100 merchant voucher with no fee or expiry and retained balance; delivery format is not established by that listing.
Kuwait
Al-Futtaim Blue Gift Card; YOUGotaGift; Alshaya eGift Cards; JYSK Kuwait.
JYSK emails KWD10-KWD100 cards for domestic online spending with retained balance; its expiry was not verified. Blue offers KWD5-KWD1,000, with 12-month validity and no cross-border redemption. These are programme conditions. The country profile explains Kuwait’s regulated e-money expiry and refund rules.
Lebanon
Whish Money: Digital gift and gaming-code distribution; Feel22: Merchant gift voucher with digital checkout code
Whish Money (Digital gift and gaming-code distribution): Instant code delivery. Specific brand eligibility, expiry and refunds vary and were not established. Feel22 (Merchant gift voucher with digital checkout code): USD 25/50/75/100/150 denominations. One year from issue. One order only, no split. Digital redemption verified; delivery form is not clearly email-only.
Libya
BeautyExpress local digital gift card; Nuran Bank local gift-card redemption; Paymaster foreign-code distribution.
BeautyExpress advertises LYD1,000 cards sent by email, with immediate or scheduled delivery and spending across multiple orders. Nuran Bank’s separate Rikaz card lists a LYD20 issue price and six-month validity for domestic POS and online use; virtual-only issuance was not established for that bank product. These are advertised products, not national sales.
Mauritania
RimCarte
RimCarte: Claims SMS/WhatsApp delivery and local wallet funding; visible catalogue displayed zero available items. Not a verified local issuer.
Morocco
Decathlon Morocco gift card; iris.ma emailed and physical gift cards.
iris.ma lists MAD300-MAD2,000 retail denominations, one-year validity and partial redemption; custom corporate digital values are also offered. Decathlon lists MAD50-MAD5,000 and two-year validity with physical collection. These format differences do not change the absence of a verified national sales series.
Oman
Al-Futtaim Blue Gift Card; YOUGotaGift.
Blue offers OMR5-OMR1,000 with email/app delivery, partial spending and 12-month validity. YOUGotaGift lists Oman for electronic distribution. Alshaya’s inspected terms list Oman for physical cards, but omit it from the explicit eGift list. See the country profile for the CBO payment-provider framework.
Palestine
Jawwal: Digital entertainment gift-code distribution
Jawwal (Digital entertainment gift-code distribution): Local mobile-number OTP. Instant delivery advertised. USD-denominated iTunes codes priced in ILS. Provider listing does not establish all-location service continuity or unrestricted issuer redemption.
Qatar
Al-Futtaim Blue Gift Card; YOUGotaGift; Alshaya eGift Cards.
Blue offers QAR50-QAR10,000 with email/app delivery, 12-month validity and partial spending in the country of issue. Alshaya also documents eGift delivery. Qatar’s section 6.2 exempts qualifying closed brand-specific gift cards but requires the issuer to inform the central bank; broader networks need separate classification.
Saudi Arabia
Al-Futtaim Blue Gift Card; YOUGotaGift; Alshaya eGift Cards; Jarir Saudi eGift Card; Resal.
Verified electronic delivery or local digital redemption. Blue country currency SAR; twelve-month validity; no cross-border redemption. Programme terms remain subject to applicable mandatory law. Availability is not national adoption or regulatory approval.
Sudan
Bitrefill Sudan storefront; Gift Card Granny corporate reward card
Bitrefill Sudan storefront: No domestic retail programme verified; international digital products do not establish local issuance. Gift Card Granny corporate reward card: Specific product lists Sudan among excluded countries; not a country-wide legal claim.
Syria
SGC GAME: Region-specific digital-code retail
SGC GAME (Region-specific digital-code retail): Catalogue distinguishes US, Saudi, UAE and other regions. Homepage advertises balance refund if order uncompleted. Provider advertising only; legal authorisation, issuer supply chain and completed delivery not independently verified.
Tunisia
Pluxee Tunisia Chèque Cadeau; Pluxee Tunisia Carte Cadeau / Pluxee Pay TN
Pluxee Tunisia Chèque Cadeau: One-year cheque validity; provider reports 4,000+ cheque acceptance points, not card/mobile network count. Pluxee Tunisia Carte Cadeau / Pluxee Pay TN: App-enabled gift-card use, valid Tunisian mobile number required; virtual issuance and card-specific validity not established. Pluxee advertises more than 4,000 points of sale and one-year validity for its gift-cheque programme; this is not a count of digital-card users.
United Arab Emirates
Al-Futtaim Blue Gift Card; YOUGotaGift; Alshaya eGift Cards.
Verified electronic delivery or local digital redemption. Blue country currency AED; twelve-month validity; no cross-border redemption. Programme terms remain subject to applicable mandatory law. Availability is not national adoption or regulatory approval.
Yemen
Yemen Gift Cards: Entertainment and payment-code application
Yemen Gift Cards (Entertainment and payment-code application): Immediate delivery advertised. Historical app update, no independent current transaction check and no complete public gift-code terms.
- Local programme: digital delivery or redemption13
Primary programme material supports local gift value with an electronic delivery or spending route. See format limits in each panel.
- Historical local programme1
Company evidence documents a past programme; current issuer terms were not verified.
- Advertised foreign-code distribution4
A local-facing provider or app lists foreign codes. This does not establish domestic issuance or unrestricted redemption.
- Incomplete or announced evidence2
Forthcoming, out-of-stock or partial material does not establish a currently available programme or deliverable inventory.
- No local programme verified2
A research gap, not evidence that gift-card activity is absent.
Non-exhaustive evidence register. Digital delivery, online redemption and mobile-assisted spending are separate features. Tunisia’s mobile-use layer and Lebanon’s online redemption do not by themselves prove virtual issuance. Iran evidence is historical. Imported codes remain subject to foreign issuer/account-region restrictions. Announced or incomplete products are not counted as verified local programmes.
Geography sources
Geography: Natural Earth, 1:50m. Public domain geometry.
GCC: six markets, different rules for stored gift value
The GCC has a visible digital gift-card ecosystem, but a country comparison needs two separate answers: how much gift value a research publisher estimates, and which products a recipient can actually obtain and use. Public evidence answers the second question more consistently. This review verifies electronic programmes across Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain and Oman. It does not establish a digital-only market total or a nationally representative adoption rate for every country.
The country sections below distinguish merchant issuers from distributors and describe specific products rather than assuming that all gift cards in a country share one expiry rule. Electronic delivery, online purchasing, online redemption and cross-border acceptance are separate characteristics. A code received by email might work only in a physical shop; a card bought online might arrive by courier.
Comparable market estimates, with a source-version warning
The dated Q1 2026 PayNXT360 research announcements distributed by Research and Markets provide a usable published vintage for Saudi Arabia and the UAE. Figures below cover gift cards broadly. The public summaries do not supply a complete reconciliation between funded value, transaction value and provider revenue. No digital share is applied to these totals.
T13. Comparable market estimates, with a source-version warning
Show data tableHide data table
| Country | 2025 estimate, USDm | 2026 forecast, USDm | 2030 forecast, USDm | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saudi Arabia | 1,850 | 2,030 | 2,870 | Q1 2026 release, 20 February [S08] |
| United Arab Emirates | 2,200 | 2,430 | 3,540 | Q1 2026 release, 19 February [S09] |
| Kuwait | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | No comparable PayNXT360 country series located |
| Qatar | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | No comparable PayNXT360 country series located |
| Bahrain | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | No comparable PayNXT360 country series located |
| Oman | 1,380 (IMARC) | Not verified | Not verified | Separate IMARC series [S96]; not comparable to PayNXT360 |
These are commercial estimates, not administrative counts. Conversion from billions to millions changes the display unit, not the precision. Missing values must remain blank on a market map. Neither population nor general payment activity can fill the gaps.
Saudi Arabia also requires an explicit qualification. Its current direct PayNXT360 page advertises USD4,170.3 million for 2026, despite carrying the same Q1 2026 edition label as the release above. This review retains the dated release as its comparison vintage and records the unresolved conflict. It does not imply the lower figure has been independently proved correct. [S10]
Saudi Arabia: merchant cards and distribution platforms solve different problems
Saudi Arabia has concrete examples of both merchant-issued gift value and platforms distributing multiple brands. Jarir's electronic card comes in SAR50, SAR100, SAR300, SAR500 and SAR1,000 denominations, lasts one year and can be used through its Saudi stores, website or app. Its terms make it a single-transaction product, prohibit reloading and cash exchange, and exclude digital products. Those restrictions matter when a purchaser expects the recipient to retain change or buy gaming content. [S11]
Resal describes a different customer journey: purchased digital cards appear in its wallet, and users can send them as gifts through SMS. Underlying card conditions determine redemption and expiry. Its separate channel agreement describes additional verification time for larger purchases: orders above SAR2,000 may take one to five hours. That is a delivery condition, not a national gift-card ceiling. [S12]; [S13]
Editorial analysis: a Saudi corporate buyer should therefore specify the recipient experience before comparing catalogue prices. A single merchant code, a choice-based reward and an account balance can produce different redemption outcomes. “Instant” should be treated as a stated service condition with verification exceptions, rather than assumed performance for every batch.
The legal distinction is equally concrete. Article 49 of SAMA's implementing regulation requires limited-network providers to register. It requires notification when activity exceeds, or is likely to exceed, SAR5 million over twelve consecutive months or SAR2 million in a month within that period. SAMA can require a licence. These are programme-activity thresholds, not individual-card limits; a merchant-network label does not remove the registration question. [S14]
United Arab Emirates: strong product evidence, bounded market claims
The UAE release estimates a broad gift-card market of USD2.20 billion in 2025 and forecasts USD2.43 billion for 2026. That makes it larger than Saudi Arabia within this particular dated comparison. It does not establish a definitive GCC ranking when three GCC country totals remain unavailable and Oman has a separate publisher estimate and the Saudi source version is disputed. [S09]
Al-Futtaim's Blue programme and Alshaya's eGift offering demonstrate different retail-group propositions. Blue's shared terms set the UAE range at AED50-AED10,000, while Alshaya describes reloadable gift value with country-specific participating brands. The comparison table below records the common Blue conditions once; no programme's terms should be extrapolated to every UAE merchant.
Under Article 2 of the UAE Stored Value Facilities regulation, issuing or operating an SVF generally requires a prior Central Bank licence, with an exception for a single-purpose SVF. Certain other structures can seek an exemption on application. A multi-merchant arrangement is therefore not automatically exempt merely because it is marketed as a gift card. [S15]
Editorial analysis: the UAE opportunity should be assessed through acceptance and responsibility as well as distribution. A platform with an attractive storefront might distribute another merchant's obligation, operate its own balance, or combine both. Corporate contracts need to identify the party holding outstanding value and handling failed delivery, refunds and expiry.
Continue reading for free.
Create your account or sign in to get unlimited access.
No payment required. Newsletter signup is optional.
Already registered? Sign in