India's digital gift-card opportunity is substantial, but a credible market study must separate several things that often arrive in the same marketing presentation: the value loaded onto cards, the amount spent with them, the revenue earned by their providers and the share of consumers who say they like receiving them. None is a substitute for the others.
Commercial research points to a multibillion-dollar gift-card sector. The business case for virtual delivery is easy to understand: employers can distribute rewards quickly, retailers can sell gifts without moving plastic, and recipients can choose a purchase rather than receive an unwanted item. What is harder to establish is a single, independently reconciled size for the digital-only market, or a reliable ranking of Indian cities by gift-card spending.
This study examines those limits alongside the opportunity. It brings together commercial market estimates, premium Statista data, original consumer studies, company disclosures, current product terms and Indian regulatory documents. The research cutoff is 18 September 2026. Forecasts retain their forecast labels; older surveys retain their fieldwork dates; product-specific rules are kept separate from general law.
What counts as a virtual gift card in India?
For this study, a virtual gift card is prepaid gift value delivered electronically for later use with an eligible merchant or merchant network. The recipient might receive a code, an account-linked balance, a digital card number or an instrument selected from a rewards catalogue. This working definition excludes ordinary bank transfers, promotional discount codes that hold no prepaid value, and general-purpose wallet balances unless the product is specifically issued as a gift.
Two decisions need to be separated. Delivery determines how the recipient obtains the instrument. Acceptance and legal structure determine where it works, who owes the value and which rules apply. A virtual bank gift PPI and a single-merchant electronic voucher can look similar on a phone while creating different obligations.
T01. Five distinctions that change the commercial and regulatory analysis
| Distinction | What must be identified | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Electronic versus physical delivery | Code, account credit, virtual card or plastic | Describes format, not the scope of acceptance |
| Issuer versus seller | Entity responsible for stored value, separately from the sales channel | Determines who handles balance, expiry and regulatory obligations |
| Single merchant versus wider acceptance | Actual eligible merchants and contractual issuer | A familiar brand name does not establish closed-system status |
| Gift value versus a discount | Prepaid monetary claim or conditional price reduction | A coupon is not automatically a gift PPI |
| Purchase value versus provider revenue | Money loaded, redeemed spend, commission or service fee | Prevents double-counting and inflated revenue forecasts |
This is an analytical classification. The operative treatment of any particular product follows its issuer, acceptance network and terms. The Reserve Bank of India distinguishes closed-system instruments from regulated PPIs, and separately specifies conditions for gift PPIs. [S01].
The distinction also changes how a business should buy a programme. A corporate buyer is purchasing delivery, choice and administration as well as prepaid value. A merchant is seeking incremental purchases and repeat visits. An issuer is managing a liability. A distributor is selling access to a catalogue. A market forecast that does not say which activity it measures cannot answer all four business questions.
How large is the Indian gift-card market?
PayNXT360's January 2026 study provides a practical benchmark for the broad market: an estimated USD 10.26 billion in 2025, with forecasts of USD 11.85 billion for 2026 and USD 20.49 billion for 2030. Those figures include gift cards across consumer and corporate uses. They do not isolate virtual cards. The 2026 number remains a forecast at this study's September 2026 cutoff. [S02]
F01. Commercial estimates of India’s total gift-card market in 2025
Separate commercial estimates in their published 2026 report vintages.
USD billion
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Different scope and methodologies. These are total-market estimates, not digital-only values, actual provider revenue, a reconciled range or a confidence interval. EMR calls its public figures indicative.
Explore the data table
| Category | 2025 estimate |
|---|---|
| PayNXT360 | 10.26 USD billion |
| Mordor Intelligence | 12.65 USD billion |
| Expert Market Research | 13.98 USD billion |
T02. The estimates should be compared, not combined
| Research series | Published observation or estimate | Forecast | Scope and interpretation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayNXT360, Q1 2026 | 2025: USD 10.26bn | 2026: USD 11.85bn; 2030: USD 20.49bn | Broad India gift-card market; commercial estimate | Report [S02] |
| Mordor Intelligence, July 2026 page | 2025: USD 12.65bn | 2026: USD 13.65bn; 2031: USD 20.71bn | Gift and incentive cards, physical and electronic | Report [S03] |
| Expert Market Research, 2026-2035 edition | 2025: USD 13.98bn | 2035: USD 74.42bn | Public figures labelled indicative; measurement comparability unresolved | Report [S04] |
| UnivDatos, April 2025 update | 2023: USD 9.15bn | Approximately 16% CAGR, 2024-2032 | Digital-only estimate; cannot be combined with another publisher's total | Report [S05] |
Editorial analysis: this is a comparison of published estimates, not a confidence interval. The spread does not establish that the real market lies between the lowest and highest values. Nor does repetition across report distributors create independent corroboration. A publisher's own website, a distributor listing and a press release can all describe the same underlying research.
The differences are particularly important for virtual cards. Mordor reports an e-gift share of 78.37% for 2025, but its public segment-growth figures do not transparently reconcile with its total forecast. UnivDatos' digital-only 2023 estimate exceeds another provider's later total-market estimate. These figures can be attributed and discussed; they cannot safely be blended into a new digital-market total. [S03], [S05]
There is also a data-vintage problem. PayNXT360's earlier 2025 edition projected USD 10.4541 billion for that year, while its subsequent edition estimated a lower value. Updating the headline date without checking whether the underlying series changed would hide that revision. Forecasts deserve their publication dates as well as their target years. [S06]
T03. Transaction value is a separate series
Pine Labs' October 2025 prospectus includes another India series, explicitly described as gift-card transaction value. Its Figure 16 attributes the estimates to PayNXT360. This offers a useful historical perspective, but it is not directly reconciled with the much larger market values above. [S07]
| Calendar year | India gift-card TPV | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | Approximately INR 213bn | Historical estimate | Pine Labs, Figure 16 [S07] |
| 2024 | Approximately INR 372bn | Historical estimate | Pine Labs, Figure 16 [S07] |
| 2028 | Approximately INR 666bn | Forecast | Pine Labs, Figure 16 [S07] |
Editorial analysis: the correct response to an unexplained difference is to keep the series separate. It would be speculative to claim that unredeemed balances, a particular corporate segment or a particular issuer explains the gap without a documented reconciliation. The transaction series remains useful because its unit and time period are explicit. It does not establish issuer revenue, profitability or a virtual-only market.
T04. What different financial measures actually describe
The distinctions below apply throughout this study. They are analytical definitions, not additional estimates.
| Measure | What it describes | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| Loaded face value | Value funded into cards | Fees or profit retained by the provider |
| Transaction or redemption value | Value used in recorded transactions | All cards purchased during the same period |
| Outstanding balance | Unspent stored value at a particular date | Annual sales or permanently unused value |
| Cards issued | Number of instruments | Unique people or average purchasing power |
| Provider revenue | Accounting income earned from services and applicable arrangements | The full face value passing through a platform |
| Online distribution share | Purchases made through online channels | Electronic format: a physical card may be bought online |
T05. What consumer studies actually establish
The available India research supports several distinct observations: digital cards are acceptable to many surveyed shoppers, gift cards can work as promotional rewards, Diwali creates a concentrated buying window, and money remains a strong alternative. The results come from different years and audiences. They should not be plotted as a continuous adoption trend.
| Study and fieldwork | Audience or base | Reported result | Appropriate interpretation | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BHN Holiday Gifting Report, 2022 | 1,040 Indian shoppers | 93% considered digital gift cards appropriate holiday gifts | Acceptance among surveyed shoppers | Company survey announcement [S08] |
| Same BHN study | Same Indian sample | 87% considered physical cards appropriate | Format comparison within one study | Announcement [S08] |
| Same BHN study | Same Indian sample | 94% planned online gift-card purchasing | Purchase intention, not realized sales | Announcement [S08] |
| YouGov festive report, September 2023 | Urban Indian respondents; complete sample details not visible in report | 36% selected gift cards for future purchases among appealing offers | Promotional appeal, not card ownership | Report, page 18 [S09] |
| Same YouGov report | Same survey context | Cashback 55%; flat discounts 51% | Competing offers attracted more selections | Report [S09] |
| YouGov, October 2023 | Urban-representative Indian adults; precise country sample not shown | 43% chose cash/money as the most exciting gift | Evidence of a substitute for vouchers | Survey article [S10] |
| YouGov, August 12-September 3, 2024 | 1,013 urban Indians overall; result refers to Diwali gift buyers | 42% typically buy 1-4 weeks before Diwali | Timing for all gifts, not just cards | Diwali report [S11] |
Editorial analysis: the 2022 finding is best understood as evidence that electronic delivery can be socially acceptable. It is not proof that 93% of Indians use virtual cards. The survey was sponsored by a gift-card provider, and its shopper audience differs from the wider population. Its value is directional, especially when interpreted alongside less favourable evidence about the attraction of cash and discounts.
The promotional study helps separate two jobs a card can perform. A card may be a present selected for somebody else, or an incentive attached to a purchase. A consumer who likes receiving future shopping credit has not necessarily decided that a branded voucher is the right birthday present. Retail campaigns and personal gifting should therefore be evaluated separately.
Timing matters for virtual delivery. A compressed seasonal window makes quick issuance and recipient communication commercially relevant. However, the evidence above does not measure how much of Diwali spending migrates to digital cards, and it does not show that last-minute buyers always prefer them. That would require a survey linking timing, format and actual purchases within the same sample.
F02. Gift-card rewards compete with cashback and price discounts
Appealing festive offers in YouGov’s September 2023 urban India report.
% of respondents
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Offer preferences in a historical urban survey, not gift-card ownership, sales or 2026 adoption. Different offer selections are not an allocation of spending. Complete sample detail was not available in the inspected report.
Explore the data table
| Category | Reported appeal |
|---|---|
| Cashback | 55 % of respondents |
| Flat discounts | 51 % of respondents |
| Gift cards for future purchases | 36 % of respondents |
A recent company observation supports growth, with a narrow denominator
Amazon's Great Indian Festival 2025 results reported 42% growth in gift cards. The disclosure is useful because it concerns activity on an operating Indian platform rather than a long-range forecast. Its short statement does not specify whether the measure is card count or value, or fully define the comparison window. It should remain a company-reported festival result. [S12]
Editorial analysis: this observation shows gift-card activity growing on that platform, but a successful campaign can reflect promotions, distribution gains or changes in a particular platform's customer mix. It does not prove the entire national market grew at the same rate. Likewise, broader corporate-gifting growth and general shopping traffic cannot be repurposed as gift-card metrics.
For a merchant, the practical question is whether a virtual card creates an additional purchase, encourages a return visit or attracts a new recipient at an acceptable cost. For a corporate buyer, it is whether the intended recipient can reliably access an appropriate choice. For an issuer or distributor, funded value must eventually be understood alongside commercial income, service costs, customer support and the settlement obligations attached to it.
These are different commercial questions. A large headline market value answers none of them on its own. A disciplined operating model would distinguish issuance from redemption, personal gifting from incentives, and first-time recipients from repeat purchasers. Those are proposed analytical lenses, not unsupported claims about how every Indian provider operates.
What Statista adds to the consumer evidence
Statista's India prepaid-card and voucher series provides a useful channel comparison. Its latest inspected observation is Q2 2026: 20% online and 14% at physical points of sale. Respondents are members of the residential online population aged 18-64; the published country base is 12,000+, and results use rolling 12-month responses. The measure includes prepaid cards and vouchers beyond gifts. It is not digital gift-card penetration. [S13].
F03. Prepaid-card and voucher usage online and at physical POS in India
Consecutive quarterly Statista Consumer Insights observations, Q4 2024 to Q2 2026. The accompanying table retains earlier historical observations.
% of respondents
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
Broader than gift cards. Residential online population aged 18-64, 12,000+ per country, rolling 12-month responses and multiple selections. Successive quarterly observations overlap in their response windows. Not transaction or spending share.
Explore the data table
| Category | Online | Physical POS |
|---|---|---|
| Q4 2024 | 18 % of respondents | 13 % of respondents |
| Q1 2025 | 18 % of respondents | 12 % of respondents |
| Q2 2025 | 19 % of respondents | 13 % of respondents |
| Q3 2025 | 20 % of respondents | 14 % of respondents |
| Q4 2025 | 21 % of respondents | 14 % of respondents |
| Q1 2026 | 21 % of respondents | 14 % of respondents |
| Q2 2026 | 20 % of respondents | 14 % of respondents |
T06. India prepaid-card or voucher usage: selected observed periods
| Period | Physical POS | Online |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 23% | 38% |
| Q4 2021 | 16% | 23% |
| Q4 2022 | 20% | 24% |
| Q4 2023 | 16% | 20% |
| Q4 2024 | 13% | 18% |
| Q1 2025 | 12% | 18% |
| Q2 2025 | 13% | 19% |
| Q3 2025 | 14% | 20% |
| Q4 2025 | 14% | 21% |
| Q1 2026 | 14% | 21% |
| Q2 2026 | 14% | 20% |
Source: Statista Consumer Insights, updated 27 August 2026. Multiple responses and overlapping rolling windows; these percentages must not be added. [S13].
The commercial interpretation needs care. A seller can grow gross sales while the percentage of surveyed consumers using a broad category changes little or declines. Existing customers might buy more often or load larger amounts; the surveyed category might also change its composition. Those are possible explanations, not findings established by this series. Transaction records would be needed to distinguish them.
It is equally unsafe to subtract the physical percentage from the online percentage and call the difference a migration rate. The survey permits more than one answer. A respondent can use vouchers in both channels, and a physical purchase can involve an electronically issued instrument. For programme design, the useful signal is that the redemption journey needs to make sense both online and at the till.
T07. How surveyed urban consumers bought festive gifts in 2024
| Purchase and delivery route | Share |
|---|---|
| Buy locally and deliver in person | 53% |
| Buy online and deliver in person | 21% |
| Buy online and ship directly | 15% |
| Buy locally and courier directly | 4% |
| No definite answer | 7% |
LocalCircles, published 23 October 2024; question base 15,801 responses, within an opt-in survey of registered platform users spanning 314 districts. Figures were inspected in Statista and checked against the original. This concerns all gifts, not gift-card formats or individual district demand. [S14] [S15].
The distribution matters because buying and presenting a gift are different activities. Online ordering does not eliminate the desire to hand something to another person. A virtual voucher can therefore support an in-person occasion as well as remote gifting. Presentation, timing and a personal message are product decisions; they are not evidence that an electronic instrument must displace every physical gift.
T08. Payment preferences around festive shopping in 2025
| Preferred payment method | Share |
|---|---|
| Cash | 39% |
| UPI and mobile wallets | 33% |
| Credit card | 14% |
| Debit card | 7% |
| EMI | 3% |
| Net banking | 3% |
JioStar surveyed 8,119 JioHotstar users aged 18-55 on 25 June-2 July 2025. These are shopping intentions, not gift-card payments. Rounded rows total 99%. The original report's 61% cashless headline differs from the sum of rounded components. [S16] [S17].
The figures illustrate a practical limit to a digital-only sales strategy: a digital product and a digital payment are separate choices. Someone can value a virtual gift but prefer a different way to pay for it. Conversely, using UPI does not imply any need for a gift card. The card has to add something to the transfer of money, such as a relevant brand, an employer's recognition programme or a recipient choice that the purchaser finds appropriate.
These observations also explain why the study does not blend survey percentages into a single adoption score. Each survey asks a different question, covers a different audience and reflects a different period. Keeping those distinctions visible makes the tables more useful than a synthetic national average.
India's virtual gift-card ecosystem: who issues, who distributes and what recipients can spend
India's virtual gift-card opportunity sits within an established digital-commerce environment, but gift cards have a distinct commercial purpose. NPCI recorded 24.509 billion UPI transactions in August 2026. Bain and Flipkart estimate that India had 290-300 million online retail shoppers in 2025, generating USD 65-66 billion of e-retail gross merchandise value. These figures demonstrate digital reach; neither measures gift-card demand. Converting a share of UPI or ecommerce value into a gift-card market estimate would require evidence that these sources do not supply. [S18], [S19]
The practical market consists of several overlapping roles: regulated issuers, technology processors, consumer distributors, corporate rewards platforms and the merchant brands where value is redeemed. A single card may pass through several of these businesses. Their reported transaction values therefore cannot simply be added together.
T09. Eleven participants, with different roles
The comparison below reflects product information available on 18 September 2026. A participant's inclusion is not a market-share ranking. Where a provider sells several brands, there is no meaningful platform-wide denomination, validity or redemption rule.
| Participant and product | Issuer or distribution role | Verified product conditions and relevance |
|---|---|---|
| Pine Labs / Qwikcilver / Woohoo | Pine Labs operates prepaid issuance, processing and distribution infrastructure; Woohoo is its consumer storefront. | APIs connect issuance and acceptance; digital delivery includes SMS/email. Denominations, validity and partial redemption depend on the underlying programme. Do not count Woohoo distribution as separate underlying issuance. [S07] |
| Amazon Pay Gift Card | Amazon Pay (India) Private Limited is the co-brand; Pine Labs Limited is the identified issuer. | INR 10-10,000; one-year validity with request-based revalidation. Residual balances persist. Eligible Amazon.in and enabled third-party spending; no reload, cash redemption or transfer for value. [S20] |
| Flipkart Gift Card | Flipkart is the redemption platform; Pine Labs Limited issues the card. | Twelve-month validity and retained residual balance. Terms describe request-based revalidation after verification; RBI gift-PPI requirements apply. Split payment excludes cash on delivery. Up to 15 cards at checkout; no cash/credit redemption. [S21] |
| GyFTR / Vouchagram India | Multi-brand consumer and corporate voucher facilitator/distributor. | Bulk CSV/API delivery, dashboards and email/SMS/WhatsApp channels. Instrument value, expiry and redemption depend on issuer/brand. After issuance, cancellation is governed by issuer policy. [S22] |
| HDFC Bank eGiftPlus | Bank-issued virtual Gift PPI. | Ecommerce/card-not-present transactions; maximum INR 10,000, non-reloadable, no cash-out or funds transfer. Merchant refunds return to the card when received. Use the issued instrument's expiry. [S23] |
| Axis Bank Gift Card | Bank issuer with physical and virtual variants. | Physical card: INR 500-10,000, three years, non-reloadable, no cash withdrawal. Separately listed virtual card: up to INR 10,000, three years and zero issuance fee. [S24], [S25] |
| ICICI Bank Gift Card | Bank-issued network gift-card product. | INR 500-10,000; current page says validity exceeds one year without a precise duration. Visa online/offline acceptance, PIN/OTP, INR 100 plus GST fee. Current application requires an ICICI account. [S26] |
| State Bank of India Gift Card | Bank-issued physical Visa gift card; useful comparison with digital delivery products. | INR 500-10,000, three-year validity, non-reloadable, no cash withdrawal. Supports ecommerce, but the reviewed page describes plastic, not a virtual card. [S27] |
| Pluxee gift-card family | Employee-benefits/rewards platform with distinct products and acceptance arrangements. | Rewards Gift Card: three years. Dining and Celebrations: one year. Pluxee describes RuPay-network gift-card acceptance. Denominations and other restrictions must be checked by SKU. [S28], [S29] |
| Enterprise spending and rewards platform with banking partners and branded reward catalogues. | Separate programme management from the issuing bank and underlying voucher issuer. No uniform catalogue-wide denomination, validity or cash-out assumption is justified. [S30] | |
| Rewards catalogue and distribution platform. | Digital gift cards and promotional offers are separate catalogue types. Issuer, value, expiry and redemption rules depend on the selected reward; a platform reward is not automatically a cash-equivalent payment instrument. [S31] |
Similar branding can conceal different spending rights
Amazon illustrates the importance of selecting the exact product. Its Shopping Voucher covers eligible physical products on Amazon.in and excludes bill payments, recharges, ticket bookings, digital content and off-Amazon transactions. A mixed cart containing an ineligible item can fail. These restrictions are materially narrower than the eligible-merchant scope of the Amazon Pay Gift Card. Substituting one for the other changes the recipient's usable benefit. [S32]
Likewise, a gift-card purchase and the purchase of merchandise with that card are separate events. Flipkart permits residual balances while restricting purchaser cancellation. Woohoo's generic FAQ directs customers to each brand's conditions. A distributor should display the actual expiry date, eligible channels, partial-use rules and cancellation position before payment, rather than relying on a generic “gift voucher” label. This is a product-design implication, not a substitute for statutory rights. [S21], [S33]
Corporate programmes compete on execution
Pine Labs' current product offering includes bulk employee rewards, customer incentives and branded stores. GyFTR advertises more than 500 brands and instant digital delivery. This breadth supports several use cases: festive employee gifts, recurring recognition, sales-channel rewards and customer promotions. The catalogue claim is vendor-reported and does not establish either independent market leadership or uniform acceptance. [S34], [S35]
For a corporate buyer, the main operational question is whether the intended employee or partner receives a useful, redeemable instrument. GyFTR's terms make delivery conditional on cleared funds, issuer availability and accurate recipient information. They also assign obligations concerning lawful recipient-data sharing. Consequently, an “instant” proposition still requires funding, recipient verification and exception handling. [S22]
Analytically, the strongest programme design combines recipient choice with clear control over budgets and delivery. Useful purchasing criteria include who owns an undelivered code, how incorrect recipient details are corrected, whether remaining balances can be viewed, and how expiring rewards are communicated. These are commercially important questions even when two providers distribute the same underlying brand card.
Face value is not revenue retained
Several business models coexist. Pine Labs' accounting disclosure describes processing fees tied to activated, reloaded or redeemed value, plus distribution and contract-dependent breakage income. Xoxoday's partner page describes negotiated revenue share varying by category, denomination and volume. Neither establishes a universal Indian gift-card commission rate. [S07], [S36]
Zaggle provides a useful historical illustration of the distinction. Its FY2025 report recorded INR 7,218.48 million of Propel/gift-card revenue alongside INR 6,781.00 million in point-redemption/gift-card costs. These are provider-specific accounting categories, not national market size or a clean margin benchmark for every digital voucher distributor. [S37]
A commercial assessment should therefore model retained commission and service fees against payment, support, delivery, fraud and funding costs. Unredeemed value should be included only where contractual entitlement and accounting treatment support it. Consumer fees can also differ: HDFC's published eGiftPlus schedule lists free issuance and annual maintenance, which says nothing by itself about a corporate programme's total service cost. [S38]
Security and recipient trust
Amazon identifies impersonation, false urgency and requests to buy gift cards as recurring scam patterns. For corporate buyers, this supports controlled issuance permissions, protected codes, verified recipient details and a rapid reporting path. No India-specific gift-card fraud loss percentage was verified in this research, so a global fraud rate should not be inserted into an Indian profitability forecast. [S39]
India's gift-card rules: the instrument matters more than its format
An emailed code, an app balance and a virtual card number may all look like digital gifting to the customer. Their legal treatment can be different. In India, a useful analysis starts with the issuer, the entities accepting the value, and the movement of funds. Delivery by email or mobile does not establish a separate legal category.
A closed-system instrument is issued for buying goods or services from the issuing entity alone. It cannot settle purchases from third parties or permit cash withdrawals. The Reserve Bank of India excludes that arrangement from the payment-system authorisation and supervision framework. By contrast, a regulated gift prepaid payment instrument, or gift PPI, has specific issuance and redemption rules. A full-KYC wallet is another product category, with different permitted functions. A familiar brand displayed across a marketplace does not establish that every underlying merchant is the same legal entity. [S40].
This distinction matters when interpreting market growth. A count of digital vouchers, a wallet transaction total and a measure of regulated prepaid cards describe overlapping but different activities. It also matters commercially: a distributor selling an authorised issuer's instruments performs a different role from the issuer operating the payment system. The Payment and Settlement Systems Act supplies the general authorisation framework; a distribution agreement or prominent platform brand is not itself evidence of issuance authorisation. [S41].
T10. What a regulated gift PPI must do
The following requirements describe RBI-regulated gift PPIs. They should not be imposed indiscriminately on every merchant voucher or borrowed from broader wallet rules. [S01].
| Issue | Regulatory position | Commercial implication |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum value | INR10,000 per gift PPI. | Structure denominations within the relevant category. |
| Reloading | Not permitted. | Reusable reward programmes need accurate product classification. |
| Cash and transfers | No cash-out or funds transfer; return to the loading source is permitted with holder consent. | Publish an accurate cancellation and refund policy. |
| Identification | Purchaser KYC is retained; separate KYC is unnecessary when issuance debits an Indian bank account or credit card. | “Digital” does not mean unrestricted anonymous issuance. |
| Revalidation | Required when the holder requests it, including through replacement. | Provide a usable revalidation process. |
| Interoperability | Optional for gift PPIs. | Merchant acceptance must be stated accurately. |
| Transaction refunds | Credit the refund immediately to the originating PPI, to the extent originally paid using it, after a failed, returned, rejected or cancelled purchase. | Preserve the originating payment relationship. |
| Complaints | Clear contacts and tracking; action preferably within 48 hours, with an endeavour to resolve within 30 days. | Issuer support remains part of the product. |
For covered PPIs, minimum validity is one year from last loading; longer validity is allowed. Expiry warnings and protections for unspent value also matter. Expiry should not be presented as automatic disappearance of all customer rights, and general expired-balance provisions must be read with gift-specific restrictions. Neither “always cash-refundable” nor “never refundable” adequately describes the framework. [S40].
UPI reach does not make every gift balance universal
Three different activities are often conflated: paying through UPI to buy a gift card, holding value in an eligible prepaid wallet, and spending that value through UPI. The December 2024 expansion of third-party UPI-app access expressly concerns full-KYC PPIs. It does not demonstrate that every gift code can be spent at every UPI merchant. [S42].
Authentication also needs careful wording. RBI's September 2025 directions, with domestic compliance required by 1 April 2026, retain an express gift-PPI exemption from the general two-factor requirement. That exemption concerns payment authentication. It is not permission to disregard fraud controls or issuance obligations. [S43].
Cross-border distribution requires a separate assessment
Electronic delivery can cross a national border more easily than the underlying payment permission. Outward cross-border PPI use is limited to specified full-KYC instruments issued by Authorised Dealer Category-I banks, permitted purchases and regulatory limits. Inward remittance arrangements likewise have their own authorisations. An overseas customer buying an India-redeemable gift therefore requires analysis of funding, distribution and redemption arrangements; it should not be advertised as a general remittance product. [S40].
T11. GST: separate the voucher from the service around it
India clarified voucher taxation through the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) Circular 243/37/2024-GST, issued on 31 December 2024. The distinction is commercially important because gift-card businesses can earn revenue from different activities.
| Transaction or revenue stream | Treatment described in the circular |
|---|---|
| Transaction in the voucher itself | Neither a supply of goods nor services. |
| Pure principal-to-principal voucher trading | Not subject to GST as a voucher supply. |
| Agency commission or distribution fee | A taxable service. |
| Separately supplied marketing, customisation, technology or support | Subject to applicable GST. |
| Underlying goods or services | May be taxable under their own rules. |
| Unredeemed voucher value | Breakage is not itself a taxable supply in the circumstances described. |
The contractual substance matters. A service fee does not become a non-taxable trading margin simply because an agreement gives it another name. Similarly, non-taxable breakage does not establish when the issuer can recognise income or end its obligation to the holder. [S44].
Older explanations also require updating: the voucher-specific timing provisions in CGST sections 12(4) and 13(4) were removed with effect from 1 October 2025. Those former issue-versus-redemption rules should not be repeated as current law. Tax analysis of the underlying supply and any separate services remains necessary. [S45], [S46].
Consumer protection applies beyond payment licensing
Online digital products fall within the Consumer Protection (E-Commerce) Rules. Relevant obligations include clear identity and contact information, an accessible grievance officer, complaint acknowledgement within 48 hours and redress within one month. Purchase consent must involve an affirmative action, and accepted refunds must follow applicable timelines. This is a separate layer from RBI classification. [S47].
For gift-card checkout, the practical implications include understandable expiry dates, redemption restrictions, seller identity and fees. The 2023 dark-pattern guidelines prohibit practices such as false urgency, unwanted basket additions and drip pricing. A genuine promotion is not automatically unlawful; the concern is manipulation of the customer's decision. [S48].
A recent development needs a future-tense label. The E-Commerce Amendment Rules, 2026, announced in September, take effect on 1 January 2027. Changes cover complaint copies, National Consumer Helpline integration, sponsored listings, misleading search results, prior-price disclosure for reductions and annual dark-pattern self-audits with a displayed certificate. Digital voucher marketplaces should assess these changes before that date; they were not yet operative at this study's September 2026 cut-off. [S49], [S50].
Recipient data and operational obligations
Digital gifting creates a purchaser-recipient distinction. A business may receive an employee's phone number or a friend's email address from someone else. Product design must therefore establish who determines the processing purpose, who acts as a processor, and which use supports delivery rather than subsequent promotion. The DPDP Act addresses these roles, consent and specified legitimate uses, safeguards and individual rights. Employment-related processing provisions should not be read as blanket permission for suppliers to market to recipients. [S51].
The commencement schedule is phased. Institutional provisions began in November 2025; specified Consent Manager provisions follow one year after Gazette publication; most core business-processing obligations follow eighteen months after publication, in May 2027. It would be inaccurate to say the whole regime has applied since 2025. [S52], [S53].
Separate payment-sector duties already matter. RBI's payment-data storage requirements predate DPDP. Its non-bank PSO cyber-resilience framework has phased implementation dates of April 2025, April 2026 and April 2028 for large, medium and small operators respectively. These obligations require analysis of the regulated operator and its service arrangements rather than assumptions based on company size or the “gift-card platform” label. [S54], [S55].
Developments to watch
The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) issued a March 2026 consultation on gift cards or gift PPIs for mutual-fund subscriptions. It signals interest in extending gifting beyond consumption, but a consultation is not an enacted permission. This research did not establish a final enabling circular. [S56].
This regulatory overview is current to 18 September 2026 and concerns the national framework. Individual contracts, corporate reward taxation, litigation and sector-specific restrictions require separate assessment.
Why there is no city-by-city gift-card heat map
The research sought Indian city-level gift-card spending, issuance, redemption and adoption figures. It did not find a current, comparable dataset covering individual cities across the country. That is a limit of the evidence inspected, not a claim that no issuer holds such data.
Several tempting alternatives were rejected. General payment volumes measure many transactions that have nothing to do with gifts. E-commerce penetration measures online shopping. A supplier's presence in a city says something about distribution, not the value of gift cards bought by its residents. An old statement about outlets accepting gift cards cannot support a current demand ranking.
T12. Geographic evidence and publication decisions
| Candidate evidence | What it could establish | What it cannot establish | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| National gift-card forecasts | Attributed estimates for India | City totals or local penetration | Retain nationally |
| Gift-card customer or merchant coverage | A provider's stated footprint | Residents' spending or market share | Discuss only with scope and date |
| Survey respondents across many districts | Breadth of the survey sample | A result for each district | Retain the national question result |
| City e-commerce penetration | Broader retail context | Gift-card purchasing | Exclude from a gift-card map |
| District digital-payment totals | Payment activity on the reporting platform | Municipal gift-card demand | Exclude from a gift-card map |
| Historical local anecdotes | Evidence about a past programme | A comparable 2026 city market | Exclude from a current heat map |
A defensible future map would need the same reporting period, comparable geographic boundaries and a consistent metric for each place. It would also need to disclose issuer coverage, distinguish customer location from merchant location, and identify missing data. A map where a blank means "not reported" must never imply zero demand.
No national total has therefore been allocated to cities by population, internet usage or payment activity. The article uses an India-specific editorial illustration, while the downloadable tables retain the actual level of geographic precision supported by the research.
What businesses should measure before scaling
The following framework is editorial analysis arising from the product and evidence distinctions in this study. It is a measurement agenda, not a set of claimed Indian industry benchmarks.
T13. A practical measurement framework for virtual gift-card programmes
| Business question | Useful measure | Necessary separation |
|---|---|---|
| Does demand repeat? | Repeat purchasers and funded orders by cohort | Personal gifts, corporate orders and promotional self-use |
| Does the gift arrive? | Successful delivery and recipient access | Payment success, message delivery and code visibility |
| Is value usable? | Successful redemption attempts | Merchant rejection, balance shortage and technical failure |
| Is the experience convenient? | Time and steps from receipt to first use | Claiming, account creation and checkout |
| Does the recipient spend it? | Redemption by time since issuance | Card count, original value and remaining balance |
| Does gifting attract a new shopper? | Brand-level new customers | New to the distributor versus new to the retailer |
| Is the programme profitable? | Contribution after discounts, fees, fraud and support | Gross face value versus recognised revenue |
| Is there unwanted friction? | Revalidation, refund and complaint outcomes | Lawful limitations versus operational problems |
| Does locality explain performance? | Comparable city cohorts where lawful and available | Buyer address, employer office and redemption location |
| Are corporate rewards useful? | Recipient choice and redemption alongside employer feedback | Recognition quality versus the monetary reward |
Start with recipient utility. A broad catalogue is valuable only if the intended recipient can use it. Eligibility restrictions, limited outlets and unclear stacking rules can change the effective usefulness of the same nominal amount. A procurement comparison should therefore examine the actual redemption journey for the selected brand and product, rather than rely on the number of logos in a sales presentation.
Treat unused balances as an operational question. A balance can remain unspent for several reasons: the recipient has not yet found a purchase, forgot the code, cannot combine payment methods, or encountered an error. Those situations require different responses. Without observed reasons and cohort data, a business should not classify every unused rupee as customer indifference or predictable profit.
Keep gifting separate from recognition quality. A card gives the employee spending choice. The accompanying recognition explains why the reward was offered. Corporate distribution systems can make it easier to administer awards, but the fact that an employer can send thousands of codes does not establish that employees experience the programme as fair, personal or useful.
Compare effective cost, not headline discount. A discounted voucher can become expensive if recipients need support, orders are cancelled, or value cannot be recovered under the applicable terms. Conversely, a programme with a smaller discount may be more useful if issuance, reporting and redemption are dependable. The correct calculation depends on the buyer's own observed costs; this study does not invent a standard Indian take rate or margin.
Use narrow market claims. A provider can truthfully report growth in a particular campaign without proving that the whole Indian market grew at the same pace. Likewise, a preference survey can support product positioning without proving the size of annual sales. For investment and procurement decisions, the most useful next evidence is usually a clear denominator, a repeatable period and auditable product-level outcomes.
Research method, source quality and data access
The study combines original commercial market summaries, issuer filings, original consumer research, premium Statista tables, official Indian legal publications and provider terms. Each table retains its period, unit and scope. Native figures and tables are included in the article's CSV export through the site's existing reader-access flow. Source records accompany the export so that a downloaded observation remains traceable.
Commercial forecasts are attributed to their publishers. A report reseller, an issuer filing quoting that report and a news release repeating the same numbers do not count as three independent measurements. Forecasts are not actual sales. Different vintages are not silently spliced together. No currency conversion has been used to manufacture agreement between incompatible series.
Statista's tables were inspected in an authenticated premium session. Where original research was available, the figures and metadata were cross-checked. Two discrepancies were resolved explicitly: its 2024 gift-channel source link pointed to an older page, so the original 2024 LocalCircles publication was used; its 2025 payment-page narrative and survey date disagreed with the premium table and JioStar report, so the table values and original fieldwork details were retained. A worldwide holiday gift-card chart without India coverage was excluded, as was the United States survey initially open in the browser.
Company disclosures and product pages establish what the company reported or the product terms said when accessed. They do not establish an audited market share unless the cited evidence supports that claim. Survey sponsorship, urban or platform-specific samples, missing question bases and older fieldwork remain material limitations.
Legal coverage distinguishes rules in force on 18 September 2026 from future commencement dates and consultation drafts. The applicable result still depends on the instrument and contractual facts. The study is a market and regulatory reference rather than a substitute for advice on a particular product launch or tax position.
The overall conclusion is narrower than the most aggressive growth claims, and more useful for that reason. India has a credible digital gift-card opportunity with established distribution and multiple commercial use cases. Successful participation depends on useful acceptance, clear recipient rights, reliable operations and disciplined measurement. Those are the conditions under which an instant digital gift becomes value the recipient actually wants to use.
Sources and documents
Collapse
- [S01] Reserve Bank of India: RBI Master Directions on PPIs — Reserve Bank of India
- [S02] Research and Markets: PayNXT360, Q1 2026 — Research and Markets
- [S03] Mordor Intelligence: Report — Mordor Intelligence
- [S04] Expert Market Research: Report — Expert Market Research
- [S05] UnivDatos: Report — UnivDatos
- [S06] PayNXT360, Q1 2025 — PayNXT360
- [S07] Pine Labs prospectus, printed page 236 — Pine Labs
- [S08] CXOtoday: Company survey announcement — CXOtoday
- [S09] YouGov: Report, page 18 — YouGov
- [S10] YouGov: Survey article — YouGov
- [S11] YouGov: Diwali report — YouGov
- [S12] Amazon India — Amazon
- [S13] Statista Consumer Insights — Statista
- [S14] Statista table — Statista
- [S15] Original LocalCircles study — LocalCircles
- [S16] Statista table — Statista
- [S17] JioStar report, pages 4 and 20 — JioStar
- [S18] National Payments Corporation of India: NPCI — National Payments Corporation of India
- [S19] Bain & Company: Bain and Flipkart — Bain & Company
- [S20] Pine Labs: Issuer terms — Pine Labs
- [S21] Pine Labs: Issuer terms — Pine Labs
- [S22] Vouchagram India: Corporate terms — Vouchagram India
- [S23] HDFC Bank: Bank terms — HDFC Bank
- [S24] Axis Bank: Physical product — Axis Bank
- [S25] Axis Bank: virtual catalogue — Axis Bank
- [S26] ICICI Bank: Bank product — ICICI Bank
- [S27] State Bank of India: SBI product — State Bank of India
- [S28] Pluxee: Validity — Pluxee
- [S29] Pluxee: acceptance — Pluxee
- [S30] Zaggle: Company filing — Zaggle
- [S31] Xoxoday: Product catalogue — Xoxoday
- [S32] Pine Labs: Shopping Voucher terms — Pine Labs
- [S33] Woohoo FAQ — Woohoo
- [S34] Pine Labs: Pine product — Pine Labs
- [S35] Vouchagram India: GyFTR — Vouchagram India
- [S36] Xoxoday partner programme — Xoxoday
- [S37] Zaggle FY2025 annual report — Zaggle
- [S38] HDFC Bank: HDFC fee schedule — HDFC Bank
- [S39] Amazon India safety guidance — Amazon
- [S40] Reserve Bank of India: RBI PPI FAQs — Reserve Bank of India
- [S41] India Code: Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007 — India Code
- [S42] Reserve Bank of India: RBI UPI amendment — Reserve Bank of India
- [S43] Reserve Bank of India: RBI authentication directions, Annex 1 — Reserve Bank of India
- [S44] Goods and Services Tax Council: CBIC voucher circular — Goods and Services Tax Council
- [S45] Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs: CBIC consolidated section 12 — Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs
- [S46] Directorate of Commercial Taxes, West Bengal: official tax update — Directorate of Commercial Taxes, West Bengal
- [S47] Department of Consumer Affairs: E-Commerce Rules, 2020 — Department of Consumer Affairs
- [S48] Department of Consumer Affairs: CCPA dark-pattern guidelines — Department of Consumer Affairs
- [S49] Department of Consumer Affairs: Official amendment — Department of Consumer Affairs
- [S50] Press Information Bureau: government explanation — Press Information Bureau
- [S51] Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology: DPDP Act, 2023 — Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
- [S52] Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology: Commencement notification — Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
- [S53] Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology: DPDP Rules, 2025 — Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
- [S54] Reserve Bank of India: Payment-data storage direction — Reserve Bank of India
- [S55] Reserve Bank of India: cyber-resilience directions — Reserve Bank of India
- [S56] Securities and Exchange Board of India: SEBI consultation — Securities and Exchange Board of India