In May 2026, Phoenix Services completed the acquisition of control of BUYME in a transaction valuing the Israeli digital gifting company at ₪840 million. The deal brought a business built around gifts and merchant relationships into a much larger financial-services group. Phoenix Financial’s half-year financial report records the closing in May and the ₪840 million company valuation. That valuation describes the business as a whole, rather than the cash paid for the controlling stake. [S01].

By August, Phoenix was describing BUYME to investors as a platform with more than 1.2 million end users, 15,000 employer relationships and 1,200 brands and merchants. These are company-reported measures of reach, without a disclosed active-user window; they are not estimates of Israel’s entire gift-card market. Their significance is the set of relationships they describe: consumers, employers and merchants connected by digitally delivered value. [S02].

At roughly the same time, Israeli voucher rules were being revised to address another side of that business: what happens when the recipient does not spend the money promptly. The regulatory changes concern validity, renewal, reminders and the return of value after a cancelled purchase. They make the period after delivery an increasingly important part of the product.

Together, the transaction and the rules offer a useful way into this market. Digital gifting is a means of distributing spending power. Its value to the recipient depends on the merchants, checkout options and rights attached to it.

This article examines virtual gift and reward cards in Israel, following the consumer journey from receipt to online redemption. It also explains the boundary with employer benefit cards, virtual Visa and Mastercard products, and ordinary digital credit cards. Physical gift products are outside the main scope; where a digitally presented product cannot be used online, that restriction is identified explicitly. All local amounts are in Israeli shekels, written ₪ or NIS.

What “virtual card” means in the Israeli market

A code in a text message, a balance in an app and a Visa number can each look like a virtual card. They can represent very different obligations.

The distinction matters particularly in Israel because consumer gifting, retail vouchers and employer benefits intersect. An employee may receive a gift directly, buy a merchant voucher using an eligible benefit budget, or pay through a card linked to an employer’s spending policy. Those routes can produce similar screens without creating the same rights.

T01. Five products that can appear as a virtual card

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T01. Five products that can appear as a virtual card

Product

What the recipient holds

What must be checked

Monetary digital gift voucher

A stated amount usable within a merchant or participating network

Online acceptance, partial use, compatible merchants and residual-value rules.

Specific-product or experience voucher

An entitlement to a defined product or service

Booking or redemption conditions, validity and whether the entitlement is divisible.

Employer benefit budget

An allocation administered under an employer’s policy

Permitted categories, budget period and whether conversion into a voucher is allowed.

Virtual network reward card

A payment credential issued under a Visa or Mastercard programme

Issuer, currency, recipient eligibility, merchant restrictions and card expiry.

Ordinary virtual credit card

A digital version of a consumer credit relationship

Credit agreement, approval, repayment and identity requirements.

These are practical categories for reading the market, rather than a substitute for each product’s legal classification. A single app can contain several of them.

A credible account of the market therefore needs several kinds of evidence: consumer preferences, actual product terms, provider disclosures and legal rules. A single forecast expressed in dollars cannot do all of those jobs.

The employer is an important route to the recipient

Holiday gifting provides an established distribution occasion. Israeli employment lawyers describe gifts around Passover and Rosh Hashanah as customary and, in some circumstances, required by an employment agreement or established arrangement. That is different from saying every employer has a universal statutory obligation to provide the same gift. [S03].

An AllJobs survey of 476 participants, reported on 10 September 2026, found 45% preferred prepaid cards, vouchers or certificates, 41% cash and 11% physical products. Digital formats were not separated. [S04].

The data behind the story

F01. Cards and cash led the reported holiday-gift preferences

AllJobs poll of 476 participants, as reported by Israel National News on 10 September 2026. The card category combines prepaid cards, vouchers and gift certificates.

%

Sources: [S04]; [S45]

Reported preferences, not national adoption or spending shares. Digital and physical voucher formats were not separated. The three disclosed categories total 97%; no additional category is inferred. Fieldwork dates, recruitment, weighting and question-specific bases were not disclosed. The two language editions are the same news report.

Explore the data table
Scroll left or right to see all columns
F01. Cards and cash led the reported holiday-gift preferences (%)
CategoryReported preference
Prepaid card, voucher or gift certificate45%
Cash41%
Physical product11%

Cards and cash were the two leading disclosed choices in this sample. The poll does not resolve how recipients value the restrictions attached to a particular gift. They do not establish a preference for digital vouchers over cash.

A preference is different from a payment already made

Statista Consumer Insights adds a historical measure of use. Among surveyed internet users aged 18–64 in Israel, reported online use of prepaid cards or vouchers was 20% in 2020, 18% in 2021, 19% in 2022 and 20% in 2023. The corresponding in-store figures were 21%, 18%, 22% and 19%. [S46]

The data behind the story

F02. Online use ended the series where it began

Israel, 2020–2023. Reported use of prepaid cards or vouchers during the preceding 12 months.

%

Source: [S46]

Separate multiple-response questions; the channels can overlap. Residential online population aged 18–64; rolling 12-month estimates. This broad category does not isolate virtual gift cards or measure spending share. The chart retains Statista’s year labels; differences are descriptive.

Explore the data table
Scroll left or right to see all columns
F02. Online use ended the series where it began (%)
CategoryOnlineIn-store / POS
202020%21%
202118%18%
202219%22%
202320%19%

The online series shows no uninterrupted climb. For a virtual gift-card business, the distinction between delivery and spending matters just as much. A digital voucher may be presented in a shop; a prepaid credential may be used online without having been a gift. The 2023 usage figures and the 2026 holiday-preference poll answer different questions. Neither establishes the size of today’s virtual-gift-card market.

Distribution makes the employer’s task easier

Providers compete partly by making employer distribution easier. BUYME’s business platform documents scheduled and bulk delivery, personalised greetings, budget permissions and reports covering expenditure and gift opening. Its public offer says there is no subscription fee, with payment for the gifts themselves. Those features address the employer’s administrative task; an opened gift is still not proof that its value has been spent. [S05].

Cibus and 10bis occupy another position. Cibus publishes a route for purchasing BUYME gifts from its app or website, while 10bis includes BUYME vouchers in its employer offering. They are distribution channels for another provider’s product as well as benefit services in their own right. Adding the same gift value to both companies’ supposed market totals would double-count the underlying activity. Cibus’s BUYME integration [S06] and 10bis’s employer service [S07].

Choice does not eliminate the emotional part of gifting

An employee gift and a birthday gift can use the same technical mechanism while carrying different meanings. The first may be interpreted as recognition from an organisation. The second carries a message from a particular person. Neither meaning is fully captured by the amount loaded.

BUYME’s own review of 2025 offers evidence of that personal layer. It groups about 55% of gifts around birthdays, births and major holidays, with approximately 45% covering other occasions. Separately, in a discussion of thank-you gifts, it says more than 70% of senders included a greeting and roughly 40% added a photograph or video. The company does not define the exact analytics population for those sender figures. These are attributed platform observations, with no published exact denominator or independent audit; they are not a national survey or a virtual-card-only count. [S08].

The data behind the story

F03. BUYME’s approximate gift-occasion mix in 2025

Provider-reported shares of gifts sent through BUYME. Approximately 55% were linked to birthdays, births and major holidays; approximately 45% to other occasions.

%

Source: [S08]

Company platform observations, not a national survey or a virtual-card-only estimate. The exact gift count, counting method and independent audit were not published. These are gift occasions, distinct from the sender-personalisation figures in the text and the preferences measured in Figure F01.

Explore the data table
Scroll left or right to see all columns
F03. BUYME’s approximate gift-occasion mix in 2025 (%)
CategoryApproximate share of gifts
Birthdays, births and major holidays55%
Other occasions45%

A reasonable interpretation is that digital delivery can carry both choice and personal expression. It does not establish that adding a video causes higher redemption or makes every recipient feel appreciated. Those would require different research.

The recipient’s questions also change over time. On arrival, the question may be whether the message is authentic and who sent it. Before shopping, it becomes whether the gift works for the intended purchase. After shopping, the remaining amount can create another decision: use it, combine it, request a remedy, or leave it for later.

That sequence is an analytical framework for understanding the product journey. No interviews conducted for this article establish a universal Israeli mindset, and no evidence here supports a psychological threshold at exactly ₪1, ₪2 or ₪3.

The provider map: twelve different positions

The following selection identifies relevant programmes and services by role. It is not a ranking by sales or market share. It also avoids counting every participant as an issuer: the merchant, processor, benefits administrator and distributing platform can be different organisations.

T02. Twelve providers and programmes by role

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T02. Twelve providers and programmes by role

Provider or programme

Position

Digital and online relevance

BUYME

Gift issuer, consumer platform and employer distribution

Monetary and specific-product gifts; online use depends on the voucher and merchant. Phoenix-controlled following the May 2026 transaction. Consumer terms [S09] · Business platform [S05].

Wolt Israel

Marketplace gift issuer

Local gift value can be redeemed to an account and used across eligible online orders. Israel gift guide [S10] · Gift shop [S11].

Shufersal / Tav HaZahav

Retailer-led gift programmes

Digital delivery and gift-wallet management; Shufersal online is explicitly supported. Individual programme variants and merchants matter. [S12].

Rami Levy / HaTav HaMale

Retailer-led multi-merchant voucher

Digital codes and online acceptance, with implementation-specific merchant conditions. Programme [S13] · Digital balance lookup [S14].

MAX / MYGIFT

Gift programme and digital management

App supports gift-card balances, transaction history and transfer. This does not imply unrestricted Visa or Mastercard acceptance. [S15].

Terminal X

Retail gift programme and online redemption destination

Selected external gifts can be converted into personal Terminal X credit. Gift shop [S16] · Payment guide [S17].

Multipass

Voucher processing and merchant technology

Digital voucher issuance tools, partial redemption and balance management; not automatically the legal issuer of every processed gift. Services [S18] · Balance check [S19].

Cibus Pluxee

Employer benefits, voucher distribution and card-linked products

Contains several distinct products, including Cibus vouchers and CibusPay. Company [S20] · Voucher offering [S21].

10bis / Ten Bis

Employer benefit distribution

Public employer offer includes BUYME vouchers; the whole meal-benefit network is not a gift-card user count. [S07].

XTRA

Digital gift marketplace

SMS/email gifts and balance support; online redemption must be confirmed for the selected product. Service [S22] · Delivery and support FAQ [S23].

SWISH / Nofshonit

Local gift programme

Terminal X lists SWISH/Nofshonit cards beginning 2010 or 2011 among the variants eligible for conversion into credit on its website. [S17].

Giftbit

International reward distributor

Israel appears on its Virtual Prepaid Mastercard eligibility list; the documented reward is a foreign-issued USD product. Approved countries [S24] · USD product [S25].

Several familiar names require care. Isracard’s publicly documented standard Gift Card explicitly excludes ecommerce. A specific FOX HOME digital voucher likewise says it cannot be used online, despite displaying card-style details. Neither should be presented as a verified virtual ecommerce solution simply because the issuer is prominent or the credential looks like a payment card. Isracard product terms [S26] and FOX HOME digital-voucher terms [S27].

The provider map is therefore more useful as a description of roles and demonstrated capabilities than as a list of logos. For a recipient, the immediate question is which exact product works at checkout. For a commercial partner, the question is which company controls that capability.

Three ways to turn a gift into spending power

The word “wallet” can hide important differences. It may describe a collection of separate codes, a combined balance or a conversion into retailer credit.

BUYME’s FAQ describes a gift wallet and a balance check using the full code from the original message. It also distinguishes combining gifts at redemption from merging them permanently: its FAQ permits multiple gifts in one transaction, while saying that separate codes cannot be merged into a single code. Actual online merchant handling still needs to be checked. [S28].

Wolt describes a different journey. A recipient opens the gift link, signs into a Wolt account and redeems the value there. Several gift cards can contribute to that account balance, which can be used over multiple orders. The country selected for the gift remains a restriction: sending a link internationally does not make its value usable in every Wolt market. [S10].

At Terminal X, eligible gifts can be converted into personal, nontransferable retailer credit. Conversion cannot be cancelled. Its guide lists certain BUYME, Tav HaZahav, MAX and SWISH variants. A broad original acceptance list can therefore become one retailer’s spending balance. [S17].

T03. Three wallet models, three different commitments

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T03. Three wallet models, three different commitments

Model

What changes

What the recipient should understand

Separate codes displayed together

Visibility improves; each code can retain its own terms

A single wallet screen does not necessarily create one spendable balance.

Gift value redeemed into a platform account

Several gifts can contribute to an account-level amount

The platform’s country and order restrictions still apply.

Gift converted into retailer credit

Value becomes dedicated to a retailer

Selection can narrow future choice and may be irreversible.

These are documented product differences, not minor interface details. They determine whether a small remainder can join another gift, whether it can move elsewhere and which support team must respond if the intended purchase fails.

Rami Levy’s programme shows another layer: the processing implementation can matter. Its linked terms identify online acceptance conditions that differ between Multipass-processed and Isracard-processed variants. A merchant name alone is insufficient evidence that every version of the voucher works on that merchant’s website. [S29].

Employer budgets are moving into several kinds of digital product

Cibus illustrates how a benefits platform can connect the gift market with payment-card infrastructure. It identifies itself as a Pluxee subsidiary and reports serving 8,000 companies and 600,000 workers. Those figures describe its broader benefit business, not the number of people holding a virtual gift card. [S20].

Its 2025 consumption report says 58% of companies in the analysed population broadened budget use beyond food into a group of categories including supermarkets, convenience retail, pharmacies and BUYME. The report draws on more than 6,500 companies; the category grouping prevents the result from being read as “58% bought gift cards.” It does show how employer-controlled budgets can reach additional kinds of spending. [S30].

In July 2026, Cibus described a voucher option that lets eligible users convert remaining budget into a digital voucher, save it in the app and receive an email or SMS copy. The company says the voucher can remain usable beyond the monthly budget period and that multiple vouchers can be used together. The page does not establish one universal expiry period, and colleague-to-colleague transfer is described as a future feature. [S21].

The change in form matters. An unspent employer allocation is governed by an employer’s budget rules; a purchased voucher introduces its own redemption conditions. The recipient needs to know when that conversion becomes final and whether it preserves the intended spending options.

CibusPay is another product. Official material describes a digital Visa credential connected to the Cibus budget, usable through supported delivery applications and compatible with Apple Wallet and Google Wallet. Broader international acceptance is presented as a future development on the product page, so the Visa logo alone cannot be translated into worldwide spendability. CibusPay product page [S31] and August 2026 introduction [S32].

The contractual distinctions are particularly revealing. Cibus’s terms identify Israel Credit Cards Ltd, known as CAL, as the card issuer, or a subsequently contracted alternative. They distinguish a version without a personal credit line from a combined +CibusPay product with a separately agreed personal line. Issuer approval and required information still apply. The ordinary Cibus budget account is expressly distinguished from a current or payment account. [S33].

This is why a benefits app should not be treated as one homogeneous wallet. The same commercial relationship can involve a budget ledger, third-party gift codes and a CAL-issued payment credential. Each has to be understood on its own terms.

A virtual Visa or Mastercard is a separate market proposition

For users seeking a network payment card, eligibility in Israel is a more meaningful claim than a general promise of global reach.

Giftbit explicitly includes Israel on its approved-country list for Virtual Prepaid Mastercard. Its dedicated USD product describes delivery through a digital link or message, recipient registration, online spending and supported mobile wallets. The issuer disclosure names Pathward, a US bank. This is a documented international reward option for eligible recipients, rather than an Israeli-issued shekel voucher. Giftbit country eligibility [S24] and USD product [S25].

Giftbit’s published disclosure says this Mastercard is valid for up to six months and that unused funds are forfeited after the valid-through date; cash access and recurring payments are excluded. These are programme terms, not a conclusion about every legal question arising from distribution to an Israeli recipient. The interaction between a foreign programme and local law requires its own assessment; local voucher renewal rules should not simply be copied onto a US-issued card. [S25].

By contrast, PayBox’s adult digital card is expressly a CAL-issued Visa Platinum credit card. The documented application includes identity details and an ID photograph. A person can use it within the PayBox ecosystem, but that does not turn the underlying credit agreement into a one-off gift card. [S34].

PayBox Young offers a digital option for a parent-controlled youth balance. It is another distinct proposition: a continuing family money-management product with parental controls and recurring funding, rather than evidence of a single-load corporate gift programme. [S35].

T04. A local voucher, a benefit credential and a network card are different products

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T04. A local voucher, a benefit credential and a network card are different products

Example

Product identity

Why it should not be confused with another category

BUYME monetary voucher

Local gift value within eligible merchants

Purchasing it with Apple Pay does not make the voucher itself an Apple Pay payment card.

Restricted CibusPay

Employer-budget-linked payment credential

Scheme branding does not override employer or merchant restrictions.

Giftbit Virtual Prepaid Mastercard

Foreign-issued USD reward programme with Israel eligibility

Local recipient eligibility does not make it an ILS-denominated local card.

PayBox adult virtual card

Consumer credit card

Digital issuance and access to a wallet balance do not remove the credit relationship.

PayBox Young digital option

Parent-managed youth spending product

Reloadable household use differs from a one-time gift.

Among the mainstream products examined, this research did not verify a locally issued, virtual-only, single-load Visa or Mastercard gift programme matching all those attributes. That is a limit of the evidence, not proof that enterprise or privately contracted programmes do not exist.

The commercially useful question is therefore specific: which legal issuer supplies which product to which recipients, in which currency, with which restrictions? A country flag in a catalogue or a familiar card-company name does not answer the whole question.

What changed in the Israeli rules

Two legal frameworks must be kept separate. The Payment Services Law governs aspects of the customer relationship. The later law regulating payment-service businesses and payment initiation governs providers and licensing. An exemption under one framework does not erase obligations arising under another.

The rules below concern instruments meeting Regulation 2(a)(1): they are not designated for a particular payer, cannot be reloaded, hold no more than ₪1,500 and debit their stored value immediately rather than providing deferred payment. The current conditions also require the provider to present the instrument separately from other payment instruments and payment with it to be made separately. The relevant issuance cohort begins on 14 April 2022. A separate route covers certain government and nonprofit assistance cards; it does not carry all the duties shown below. Original 2022 regulations, sections 2–4 [S36] · July 2025 amendment [S37] · March 2026 amendment [S38].

Enacted amendments published in July 2025 and March 2026 changed the operational requirements. The following table summarises the current position for qualifying instruments; it is not a promise that every product using the English label “gift card” has the same classification.

T05. Validity, renewal and reminders for qualifying instruments

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T05. Validity, renewal and reminders for qualifying instruments

Issue

Current rule for the relevant instrument

Source

Initial monetary validity

At least five years.

July 2025 amendment [S37].

Expired monetary balance of ₪150 or less

Renewal on request for five years, counted from the previous expiry.

March 2026 amendment [S38].

Expired monetary balance above ₪150

Renewal on request for ten years, counted from the previous expiry.

July 2025 amendment [S37].

Newer specific-product/service voucher without a stated monetary amount

For issuance from 22 March 2026, a two-year minimum where the price paid exceeds ₪50; separate treatment from monetary renewal.

March amendment [S38].

Balance-reminder threshold

Above ₪50 for issuance from 22 March 2026; above ₪100 for earlier covered issuance. Reasonable ability to locate the holder is required.

March amendment [S38].

Merchant-notified cancellation under consumer law

From 27 May 2026, where a merchant notifies the issuer of cancellation under the Consumer Protection Law, the issuer must enable the payment to be returned as value on the instrument used. Paper-based instruments are excluded from this provision.

July text [S37] and March commencement provision [S38].

Specific-product or service vouchers without a stated monetary amount that were issued before 22 March 2026 retain the rules that previously applied to them. The newer rule should therefore not be applied retrospectively to every older gift. [S38].

The data behind the story

F04. The expired balance determines the renewal period

Renewal on request for qualifying monetary instruments: five years where the expired balance is ₪150 or less; ten years where it is above ₪150.

Years

Sources: [S37]; [S38]

Applies to monetary instruments issued on or after 14 April 2022 that satisfy regulation 2(a)(1). Years run from the instrument’s previous expiry date, not from the request date. Renewal must be requested. This is not the rule for every gift product, a guarantee of cash recovery or a claim of unlimited automatic renewal.

Explore the data table
Scroll left or right to see all columns
F04. The expired balance determines the renewal period (Years)
CategoryYears from the previous expiry date
Expired balance of ₪150 or less5 Years
Expired balance above ₪15010 Years

The reminder schedule requires at least annual contact, with additional notices a month before expiry and a month before the end of the renewal-request period. Renewal is requested, rather than automatically creating a new term every time the consumer opens the app. [S37].

The practical consequence is that one date labelled “expires” may not describe the end of the consumer’s options. An issuer needs to explain what can still be renewed, how the request works and which original date controls the calculation.

These are also measurable product obligations. Can the issuer find the holder? Does it preserve the original issuance date? Can it distinguish qualifying monetary value from a specific-service voucher? The quality of those records matters when a forgotten gift resurfaces years later.

Licence exemption is not the same as a protected bank balance

BUYME and Wolt both disclose that their relevant payment services are exempt from licensing under the 2023 framework and are not supervised by the Israel Securities Authority for those exempt services. That is a product-specific disclosure, not a finding that the companies have no legal duties. BUYME terms [S09] and Wolt Israel terms [S39].

The relevant temporary licensing exemption is scheduled to run until 6 June 2027, with a continuation route for providers that submit a satisfactory licence application before it ends and await the Authority’s decision. Separately, Regulations 2 and 3 of the customer-protection exemption regime have a stated horizon of 14 July 2028. Neither date is the expiry date of an individual gift. Licensing-exemption regulations [S40] and customer-regime amendment [S37].

For licensed payment companies, the later law contains requirements for protecting customer funds through prescribed arrangements. It does not follow that every exempt gift issuer gives the holder the same protection, or that a gift balance is an insured deposit. Classification and the actual safeguarding arrangement have to be established. [S41].

This is relevant when a large financial group owns a gifting platform. Ownership can change commercial resources and distribution opportunities. It should not be presented as a blanket guarantee of repayment to every voucher holder.

The final ₪3: what can the recipient actually do?

Small balances are where product mechanics become most visible. The question is not simply whether ₪3 feels valuable. It is whether using it requires another purchase, a complicated conversion or almost no extra effort.

Wolt’s Israeli terms expressly allow another payment instrument, including a credit card, to cover the difference between a gift balance and an eligible order. In an illustrative ₪60 order, a ₪3 balance can therefore contribute ₪3, leaving ₪57 to another payment method. That example follows the published mechanism; it is not evidence that recipients routinely behave this way. [S39].

A separate-code wallet raises another question: can the remaining value be used alongside another code? A conversion system raises a different one: has the recipient already committed the value to a particular retailer? The usefulness of the amount depends on those answers.

T06. The practical questions behind a small balance

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T06. The practical questions behind a small balance

Remaining value

A useful consumer question

What the amount alone cannot establish

₪1–₪3

Can this contribute automatically to an order I already intend to place?

A low amount does not, by itself, make the value unusable.

₪5–₪10

Can I combine it with another gift or payment method?

A visible balance does not prove that the checkout supports combining it.

An amount below an available conversion denomination

Can the issuer offer a smaller redemption or another applicable remedy?

A catalogue’s displayed choices do not describe every contractual or legal right.

Any amount in an expired gift

Is renewal available, and which date starts the renewed period?

Expiry on the screen does not necessarily mean the value has disappeared.

These are illustrative situations and research questions, not measured psychological bands. No Israeli evidence reviewed here establishes a sudden behavioural change at those amounts.

There is, however, a narrowly framed legal rule concerning cash change. Section 14Z of the Consumer Protection Law addresses qualifying refund-credit and gift vouchers: after redemption, change is due where the remainder is no more than the lower of 5% of the stated value or ₪100. A qualifying ₪200 gift voucher spent on ₪193 leaves ₪7, within a ₪10 threshold. This is not a general right to withdraw every shopping voucher, employer allocation or balance below ₪100. The legal category must be established first. [S42].

The distinction also prevents an easy mistake: a cancellation charge expressed as “5% or ₪100” is not the same rule as a consumer’s entitlement to cash change. Identical numbers can describe different rights and obligations.

For a provider investigating unused value, the relevant evidence would connect balances to available actions. How often can a small balance be applied to the next order? How often does the user abandon a conversion? Does an expiry reminder lead to redemption, a renewal request or a support complaint? Public delivery totals cannot answer those questions. They are also central to the broader gift-card breakage investigation: issued value, redeemed value and value still owed are different measures.

Cancellation and recovery follow the purchase route

Buying the gift, receiving it and purchasing goods with it are three separate events. A cancellation at one stage should not be assumed to reverse every later stage automatically.

Wolt’s current terms illustrate the distinction. An unused gift bought directly on its platform can be cancelled within 14 days by the purchaser, subject to law, with a possible fee capped at the lower of 5% or ₪100. Gifts acquired through a third party must be taken back through that channel; the terms separately identify Cibus purchases. This is not an unconditional cash-refund promise to any recipient. [S39].

Returning a product purchased with a converted gift can create yet another form of value. Terminal X’s gift guidance describes restoration as account credit in relevant returns and cancellations. This describes the retailer’s workflow; it does not resolve whether a particular cancellation triggers the statutory restoration right discussed above. [S43].

Recovery also depends on records. A lost message need not be the same as lost economic value if the issuer can identify the credential and its remaining balance. For covered non-paper instruments, the issuer must work to recover identifiable remaining value and freeze use at the apparent lawful holder’s request, subject to the regulation’s reasonable-identification condition. An anonymous-looking code is not evidence that restoration is always possible without information from the holder. [S37].

For users, the practical information is simple: the issuer’s name, the exact gift variant, the remaining amount, its dates and the purchase channel. For the business, providing that information consistently requires accurate records across the entire distribution chain.

Where a recipient can check the gift

The following are official services or instructions. Some routes require login, a phone number or the original gift code. The directory distinguishes direct lookup forms, app instructions and support channels.

T07. Official routes for checking a gift

Scroll left or right to see all columns
T07. Official routes for checking a gift

Programme

Official route

What to look for

BUYME

Consumer FAQ and account instructions [S28]

Received gifts or gift wallet; full-code balance and expiry lookup.

Wolt Israel

Account-balance instructions [S10]

Redeemed gift balance in the account profile; check the selected country.

Rami Levy digital voucher

Digital voucher balance and message recovery [S14]

Full digital code; separate phone-based resend option.

Multipass-supported voucher

Official balance form [S19]

Card-number lookup for the supported programme.

MAX MYGIFT

Official app [S15]

Gift balance and transaction history.

XTRA

Gift details, exchange and support instructions [S23]

Check the expiry shown on the gift; use XTRA’s support route for help with the voucher or an exchange.

Shufersal / Tav HaZahav

Official gift app [S12]

Gift-wallet records and programme balance.

Terminal X

Account-credit instructions [S17]

My Terminal → My Credit; distinguish unconverted gift value from retailer credit.

As our research on what people want when they check a gift card balance explores, the amount should be accompanied by the next usable action. A balance screen that explains partial payment, conversion consequences and renewal eligibility is more useful than one that only displays a number.

What the evidence says about the competitive market

Israel’s market offers several ways to reach the same consumer: personal gifting, employer budgets, retailer programmes and international reward distribution. The strongest documented distinctions concern control over the journey.

BUYME combines gift selection with employer relationships and merchant acceptance. Retailer-led programmes connect value to existing shopping networks. Cibus and 10bis place rewards within an employer’s recurring relationship with workers. Multipass supplies technology beneath merchant and programme brands. A foreign network reward provider offers another kind of spending credential, with its own issuer and currency.

That makes online acceptance an operational capability worth examining in detail. It depends on the exact instrument, the merchant integration and sometimes the processing route. A broad catalogue can create choice, but a conversion step can also reduce it. A sophisticated employer dashboard can make distribution efficient while revealing little about whether the recipient spent the last shekel.

The available figures do not justify a national market-share ranking or a precise total for Israel’s unused virtual gift value. Phoenix’s acquisition valuation is a corporate valuation, not annual gift-card sales. Platform end users are not necessarily active redeemers. Cibus’s employer footprint is not digital-gift-card penetration. Preserving those distinctions produces a more useful assessment than combining unlike numbers into an impressive market total.

For employers, merchants and distributors choosing a partner, the central questions are concrete:

  1. Who is responsible for the value? Identify the issuer, processor, distributor and accepting merchant for the exact product.

  2. Which online checkouts work today? Demonstrate the relevant variant, partial redemption, multiple-code use and payment of a shortfall.

  3. What changes at conversion? Explain whether a benefit budget or broad voucher becomes an irrevocable merchant obligation, and what happens on a return.

  4. How are the 2026 requirements implemented? Show issuance records, reminder eligibility, renewal requests and restoration of cancelled digital payments.

  5. What remains unused? Provide cohort-based redemption and residual-balance data, separating delivered, opened, converted and actually spent gifts.

  6. What is included in the commercial agreement? Establish pricing, funding, reconciliation, API access, branding, support responsibility and the treatment of unused funds.

These questions follow from the public product terms and disclosures examined here; they are a framework for assessing a provider, rather than private answers supplied for this article.

The same question runs through our wider study of Asia’s digital gift-card economy. The next stage of competition will be easier to assess by following a gift beyond its arrival. Can the recipient use it online, preserve freedom of choice, recover it when something goes wrong and spend the remainder without unnecessary effort? In Israel, the rules and the product designs now provide unusually concrete ways to ask those questions.

Reporting notes and methodology

This article was reviewed on 17 September 2026 using provider documentation, enacted statutory materials, public financial disclosures and published survey reporting. Phoenix Financial’s half-year report establishes the completed BUYME transaction; its August investor presentation supplies the separately labelled operating metrics. No national market-share ranking or virtual-only market-size estimate is inferred from them.

The AllJobs preference figures are attributed to Israel National News’s report of a poll of 476 participants. The report does not specify fieldwork dates, recruitment, weighting or the full questionnaire. The chart contains only the three disclosed categories, which sum to 97%; it does not invent an explanation for the remaining percentage. The reported category combines prepaid cards, vouchers and gift certificates without distinguishing digital from physical formats.

Statista’s page lists April 2022–March 2023 fieldwork and 12,000+ respondents per country. Those page-level details are not treated as sample counts for every historical year. Separate questions ask about online and physical payment methods used during the previous 12 months. [S46]

BUYME’s 2025 figures describe its own platform: occasion percentages concern gifts, while greeting and multimedia percentages concern senders. The company does not publish an exact denominator or independent audit for those observations. Cibus’s figures describe its broader benefits business and the stated company population in its consumption report. These populations are kept separate throughout.

The legal discussion distinguishes the payment-services customer framework from provider licensing and identifies the relevant issuance cohorts. The review used enacted Hebrew Gazette texts, including the March 2026 amendment and its April correction [S44], and official Knesset legislation for cash-change and customer-funds provisions. Open Law hosts copies of the Gazette. The renewal figure summarises the specified monetary-instrument rules, not every product sold as a gift.

Provider documentation establishes published capabilities. No purchases, live balance checks or provider interviews were conducted. The balance directory identifies official instructions, apps or support routes, with login and credential requirements where relevant. Online acceptance is stated for the particular programme or variant supported by the cited merchant or issuer.

Behavioural explanations and small-balance scenarios are editorial analysis. They are not measured psychological thresholds or estimates of unused gift value. All sources are collected below; chart values and article tables are available in the CSV download.