A gift card begins as a promise: the recipient will choose something later. What happens when later never arrives is a question of customer behavior, accounting estimates, contracts and law. This data investigation follows that money through consumer surveys, company filings and academic evidence, and separates reported results from the scenarios used to explain them.
The core research cutoff is 15 September 2026, with Statista data additions reviewed on 16 September 2026. The investigation reviews 14 companies and includes 24 interactive figures and 36 tables. Survey years and company fiscal years remain visible throughout. Source codes in square brackets refer to the annotated bibliography at the end.
What gift card breakage means
A gift can become revenue without becoming a purchase
A gift card starts as a promise. Someone gives up cash today so another person can choose a purchase later. The complication is the interval between those two moments: value can sit on a card, move into an app, be spent in pieces, be lost, or remain usable long after an accountant has recognized some of it as revenue.
This investigation asks four questions: how much value remains unused; how much companies actually recognize as breakage; what evidence supports the estimates; and which party is legally entitled to the residual. Those questions need different datasets. Mixing them produces large, memorable numbers that say less than they appear to.
The central finding is a visibility gap. Public filings can reveal substantial recognized amounts, but they do not provide a complete census of permanent consumer loss. Survey balances include money people still intend to spend. Financial statements apply estimates across many generations of cards. Contract terms and local law determine whether an issuer, a program partner, the purchaser, the recipient, or a public unclaimed-property administrator ultimately receives value.
This is document-based reporting. No interviews were conducted and no private transaction ledger was supplied. Corporate statements are presented as their disclosures; survey answers as self-reports; litigation as attributed allegations or settlements; and analytical scenarios as illustrations. Widely circulated headline estimates are treated as research leads and checked against the underlying evidence before being presented as findings.
T01. Five questions that sound similar but measure different things
Show data tableHide data table
| Question | Correct measure | What it cannot establish |
|---|---|---|
| How much is sitting unused? | Outstanding face value at a stated date | Whether it will never be spent |
| How much will never be redeemed? | Ultimate non-redemption for a defined issuance cohort | The current-year accounting entry |
| How much was recognized this year? | Reported breakage income/revenue for that fiscal period | A cohort abandonment rate without matched loads |
| How much did the issuer earn? | Program profit after relevant costs, tax and contractual shares | Profit from the breakage revenue line alone |
| Who gets the residual? | Applicable liability, legal entitlement and contract waterfall | Ownership from possession of cash alone |
The vocabulary determines the result
An unused balance is a stock measured at a point in time. Breakage recognition is a flow measured over a period. A breakage rate is a ratio requiring a defined numerator, denominator and observation horizon. None is interchangeable with the others.
The physical or digital card is also distinct from the obligation. Replacing an expired card may leave its funds intact. Recognizing estimated breakage need not cancel the customer’s redemption right. The most useful analysis follows the monetary obligation across systems, rather than treating a card status field as the final economic outcome.
T02. A working dictionary
Show data tableHide data table
| Term | Meaning in this study | Critical boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Face value issued | Value activated or promised to the recipient | May differ from cash paid after discounts or bonuses |
| Outstanding face balance | Value remaining on live instruments | Can exceed the accounting carrying liability |
| Contract liability | Book obligation associated with future goods/services | May already reflect proportional breakage |
| Ultimate breakage | Estimated cohort value never redeemed | Estimate until sufficiently resolved; legal entitlement separate |
| Recognized breakage | Amount recorded in the current accounts | Can include revisions relating to older cards |
| Float | Timing benefit from holding money before settlement | Not the same as ownership of unredeemed principal |
| Escheat / remittance | Transfer to a state under unclaimed-property rules | Cannot simply be treated as merchant breakage |
| Cash redemption | Return of qualifying residual value to the holder | Thresholds and product exceptions vary |
| Fraud loss | Value stolen or diverted | Can happen through successful redemption |
| Non-claim / non-activation | Reward never claimed or activated | Must be separated from post-activation non-spend |
A $100 card has more than one clock
Consider an illustrative $100 card sold at face value, with no fees, returns or escheat obligation. Its initial sale supplies cash but creates an obligation. If reliable evidence supports $8 of ultimate breakage, expected customer redemption is $92. After $46 has been redeemed, half that expected use has happened; proportional recognition records $4 of breakage. The remaining customer face balance is $54, while the remaining book liability is $50.
That difference is the heart of the story. An accounting estimate can move faster than the legal extinguishment of an individual customer right. It is therefore unsafe to say that recognizing breakage proves that a named card was abandoned.
The example abstracts from discounts, multi-party settlement, costs and tax. It explains a proportional recognition mechanism; it does not tell an issuer which accounting standard or legal treatment applies to a real program. [M1]
F01. An accounting liability can fall below the live face balance
USD
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
Source
ILLUSTRATIVE: $100 issuance, 8% expected ultimate breakage; no expiry or legal cancellation assumed.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Remaining face value | Carrying liability |
|---|---|---|
| Issue | 100 USD | 100 USD |
| Half expected use | 54 USD | 50 USD |
| Expected use complete | 8 USD | 0 USD |
T03. Illustrative lifecycle: face balance versus carrying liability
Show data tableHide data table
| Stage | Cash collected cumul. | Redeemed cumul. | Breakage recognized cumul. | Remaining face | Book liability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issue | $100 | $0 | $0 | $100 | $100 |
| Half expected redemption | $100 | $46 | $4 | $54 | $50 |
| Expected redemption complete | $100 | $92 | $8 | $8 | $0 |
Illustrative, not a forecast. A residual redemption right may survive accounting recognition. [M1]
What consumer surveys reveal
Fewer Americans reported unused value, but holders had larger balances
The strongest recoverable U.S. survey series covers 2021–2024. Prevalence fell from 51% to 43%, an eight-percentage-point difference, while the conditional mean rose from $116 to $244. These are repeated cross-sections, not the same people or the same cards followed over time. [U01] [U02] [U03] [U04]
The underlying questionnaires concern gift cards, vouchers and store credit. The 2024 coverage includes general-purpose cards and airline or food-delivery vouchers. The 2024 median holder balance was $100, far below the mean: a typical-holder narrative based only on $244 would obscure the distribution. [U05]
A useful denominator check is 0.43 × $244 = $104.92 per adult, using rounded published inputs and including adults with no unused value. The $244 figure is neither a per-card average nor an average for every adult. The national extrapolation is the publisher’s estimate; the public release does not supply enough microdata to construct an independent uncertainty interval. No newer original Bankrate survey was located for this study.
The survey gives two different views of the same unused-value stock. Fewer adults reported holding it in 2024 than in 2021, while the average among holders was higher. Neither observation tells us how much an individual recipient ultimately lost: the people, cards and new gifts entering each survey can change. [U01] [U04] [U05]
F02. The share of adults holding unused value declined across survey vintages
Measure: % of U.S. adults.
%
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
SURVEY: repeated cross-sections; no statistical-significance or causal claim. Not the share of dollars never redeemed.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Adults holding unused value |
|---|---|
| 2021 | 51% |
| 2022 | 47% |
| 2023 | 47% |
| 2024 | 43% |
F03. The average unused balance among holders increased
USD
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
SURVEY: conditional on holding unused value. Does not track an issuance cohort.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Mean balance among holders |
|---|---|
| 2021 | 116 USD |
| 2022 | 175 USD |
| 2023 | 187 USD |
| 2024 | 244 USD |
F04. National headlines describe outstanding value, not annual breakage
USD billion
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
SURVEY-BASED EXTRAPOLATIONS: approximate published totals; no independently derived error bars.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Publisher’s outstanding-value estimate |
|---|---|
| 2021 | 15 USD billion |
| 2022 | 21 USD billion |
| 2023 | 23 USD billion |
| 2024 | 27 USD billion |
T04. Original U.S. survey vintages
Show data tableHide data table
| Year | Adults with unused value | Mean among holders | Published outstanding estimate | All-adult mean, derived |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 51% | $116 | About $15bn | $59.16 |
| 2022 | 47% | $175 | About $21bn | $82.25 |
| 2023 | 47% | $187 | About $23bn | $87.89 |
| 2024 | 43% | $244 | About $27bn | $104.92 |
Nominal USD; cards, vouchers and store credit. Survey estimates, not audited balances or annual breakage. [U01] [U02] [U03] [U04]
T05. How the surveys were conducted
Show data tableHide data table
| Year | All respondents | Fieldwork | Known holder subsample |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 2,387 | 30 Jun–2 Jul 2021 | 1,225 |
| 2022 | 2,372 | 27–29 Jul 2022 | Not stated in release |
| 2023 | 2,446 | 20–22 Jun 2023 | Not stated in release |
| 2024 | 2,373 | 19–21 Aug 2024 | 1,010 |
YouGov online adult samples with weighting; nonprobability-panel design. These panel estimates do not support an invented simple-random-sampling margin of error. [U01] [U02] [U03] [U04]
Who holds unused value, and what people say happened to it
Different demographic cuts answer different questions. The generation chart compares dollar balances only among holders. The income chart measures how common unused value is within each income group. Neither alone establishes which group permanently loses the most money.
Statista also publishes the 2024 generation breakdown shown in F05. Its values—$142 for Gen Z, $332 for millennials, $255 for Gen X and $227 for baby boomers—come from the same Bankrate/YouGov survey already cited here. The original release remains the source for the holder-only denominator and survey method; the additional publication does not supply a second estimate of unredeemed money. [ST01] [U04]
Lifetime experiences also differ from the present stock: the 2024 survey recorded expiry, lost cards and business closures. The categories overlap. Their percentages cannot be added, and they are not the fractions of issued value lost each year. [U05]
Plans to redeem are weaker evidence than observed redemption. In the 2022 survey, 45% of holders expected to use all their unused value within a year and 30% most of it. Without following the same instruments, later aggregate surveys cannot tell whether those plans failed: old cards can be spent while new ones arrive. [U02]
F05. Generation differences concern balances among holders
USD
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
SURVEY 2024: conditional holder means; not per card, not permanent loss, and no significance test supplied. Statista reproduces this same Bankrate/YouGov survey; it is not an independent observation.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Mean unused balance |
|---|---|
| Gen Z | 142 USD |
| Millennials | 332 USD |
| Gen X | 255 USD |
| Baby boomers | 227 USD |
F06. Unused value was more common in higher-income households
Measure: % within household-income group.
%
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
SURVEY 2024: prevalence, not the share of gift-card dollars abandoned.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Adults reporting unused value |
|---|---|
| Under $50,000 | 35% |
| $50,000–79,999 | 44% |
| $80,000–99,999 | 47% |
| $100,000+ | 55% |
T06. Lifetime loss experiences are overlapping responses
Show data tableHide data table
| Experience | Share of all adults |
|---|---|
| Ever let a card expire | 20% |
| Ever lost a card | 17% |
| Business closed before use | 12% |
| At least one of these | 34% |
Self-reported experience at any time; not annual incidence or dollar-weighted breakage. [U05]
A reported obstacle is not an ultimate breakage rate
Accenture’s 2024 US Holiday Shopping survey adds a different kind of evidence: people’s explanations for leaving a balance unused. In the table published by Statista, 483 respondents with unused balances could select several reasons. Forgetting the card and having access to only a few brands or stores each drew 34%; 25% said the value was too small to bother using. [ST02]
F07. Consumers report several reasons for leaving a balance unused
All 12 reported reasons from the 2024 US survey. The base is people with an unused balance.
% of respondents with an unused balance
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
SURVEY 2024: Accenture data published by Statista; US online survey, n=483. Multiple responses allowed. No dollar threshold, share of outstanding money or ultimate non-redemption rate is measured. Labels shortened for display.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Selected this reason |
|---|---|
| Limited brands or stores | 34 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Forgot about the card | 34 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Could not find items to buy | 28 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| No time to use it | 28 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Unappealing available options | 28 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Value too small to bother | 25 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Only one redemption channel | 23 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Technical redemption problems | 23 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Expired before use | 22 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Insufficient flexibility | 20 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Sign-up required | 18 % of respondents with an unused balance |
| Lost the card | 17 % of respondents with an unused balance |
The ranking does not divide unused cards into separate piles. A person could report a small balance, an inconvenient channel and a forgotten card together. The 23% citing technical difficulties and the 23% citing a single redemption channel cannot therefore be added into a 46% failure rate. Nor does a reported obstacle establish that the money was permanently lost.
These are also different questions from Bankrate’s lifetime experiences in T06. Accenture asks a group holding unused balances why value went unspent; Bankrate asks adults whether specified events ever happened. Even the superficially matching lost-card percentages have different populations. The 25% small-value response gives direct evidence that size can matter, but supplies no universal cutoff below $1, $2 or $3. [ST02] [U05]
T07. Intentions for the next twelve months, 2022
Show data tableHide data table
| Planned use of unused value | Share of holders |
|---|---|
| All | 45% |
| Most | 30% |
| A few | 16% |
| None | 9% |
Plans, not tracked outcomes. 71% held at least one instrument a year old; that is not 71% of dollar value. [U02]
A newer snapshot still separates waiting from giving up
CivicScience’s January 2025 reporting, reproduced by Statista, distinguishes several unused-card positions among adults who typically buy or receive gift cards. Eleven percent reported many unused cards, 29% a few, and a further 21% selected the answer that they planned to spend them in the near future. Thirty-nine percent reported none. [ST03] [ST07]
F08. Some unused cards still come with a plan to spend
2025 snapshot among adults who typically buy or receive gift cards.
% of respondents
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
SURVEY SNAPSHOT: CivicScience reporting published 7 January 2025, reproduced by Statista. Categories concern people and plans, not dollars. The population differs from Bankrate’s all-adult ownership measure and its unused-value-holder intentions sample. No tracked redemption outcome is implied.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Response share |
|---|---|
| Many unused cards | 11 % of respondents |
| A few unused cards | 29 % of respondents |
| Unused, with plans to spend soon | 21 % of respondents |
| No unused cards | 39 % of respondents |
The 21% with near-term plans must not be relabeled as a breakage rate, and the other unused-card categories do not establish an intention never to spend. This snapshot also cannot validate or refute the 2022 plans in T07: different respondents, timing, response options and populations are involved. A credible estimate of ultimate non-use still needs to follow a defined set of obligations over time.
International headlines need their original questions
Ireland’s 2025 consumer research is unusually specific about its denominator. Among 649 respondents who had received Christmas-2024 vouchers, 77% said they had used the full value, 22% had not and 1% did not know. The not-full category includes partial spending; calling it never redeemed would alter the finding. Interviews took place in October 2025. [U10]
The Australian and British examples below are useful context, but cannot be combined into a cross-country breakage league table. The studies differ in instrument scope, time horizon, sample and outcome. A pandemic-expiry episode, current unused holdings and lifetime loss are not competing estimates of the same quantity.
The Irish question also marks the boundary of the evidence. A respondent who had spent nearly all a voucher and a respondent who had spent none could both answer that its full value had not been used. The 22% result identifies incomplete redemption among recipients; it cannot reveal the percentage of voucher money still outstanding. [U10]
F09. Not fully redeemed does not mean never redeemed
Measure: % of recipients.
%
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
IRELAND SURVEY, October 2025; Christmas-2024 recipients n=649; full sample n=1,012. Includes a range of voucher products.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Share of voucher recipients |
|---|---|
| Full value used | 77% |
| Not fully used | 22% |
| Do not know | 1% |
T08. Selected international evidence
Show data tableHide data table
| Place / source | Observation | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Ireland / CCPC 2025 | 22% of recipients had not used full value | Includes partial use; finite observation horizon |
| Australia / Finder, Dec 2024 fieldwork | 33% held unused cards; 21% reported ever losing value | Stock prevalence versus lifetime experience |
| Australia / Australian Treasury, 2012 | Industry-informed breakage assessment above 3%, below 8% | Historical; before later expiry reform |
| UK / Which? 2020 | Among expiring-voucher subgroup: 49% auto-extension, 15% on request, 36% none | Lockdown-specific; not an annual breakage rate |
What company filings and research show
What public-company filings actually disclose
The table below covers 14 public companies selected for relevant disclosures. Six disclose separate amounts in the reviewed notes; others describe a policy, provide a liability or combine breakage with redemption. This is an evidence map, not a ranking of all issuers or a representative industry sample.
Reported carrying liabilities are not uniformly measured consumer face balances. Some are net of estimated breakage or fees; Starbucks’ roll-forward includes loyalty Stars. Fiscal labels and year-end dates also differ. Large balances beside missing breakage figures should prompt questions, not invented estimates.
Revenue classification can differ too: Walmart places breakage in membership and other income, while several retailers include it in sales. An analysis that searches only the sales line could miss relevant recognition. [C09]
Even apparently similar labels can cover different products. DICK'S discusses gift cards alongside merchandise credits and added acquired Foot Locker liabilities during the year. Walmart separately discusses reward-related income. Keeping those boundaries visible prevents a convenient comparison from becoming a claim about a uniform gift-card market. [C18] [C09]
F10. Six disclosed amounts illustrate scale, not an industry ranking
USD million
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Latest reviewed annual periods: Brinker FY2026, others FY2025. Product scope and year-ends differ; see disclosure table.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Separately disclosed breakage |
|---|---|
| Starbucks | 222.400 USD million |
| DICK'S Sporting Goods | 41.300 USD million |
| Chipotle | 27.877 USD million |
| Cheesecake Factory | 24.500 USD million |
| Brinker | 10.300 USD million |
| Red Robin | 5.243 USD million |
T09. Selected latest annual disclosures, USD million
Show data tableHide data table
| Company | Fiscal label | Period end | Breakage | Carrying liability | Scope / caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 2025-09-28 | 222.4 | 1,751.7 | Cards + Stars liability; card breakage | |
| FY2025 | 2026-01-31 | 41.3 | 305.548 | Cards / merchandise-credit policy; acquired Foot Locker | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-31 | 27.877 | 174.6 | Gift cards; loyalty separate | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-30 | 24.5 | 212.859 | Reassessment affects 2025 | |
| FY2026 | 2026-06-24 | 10.3 | 52.8 | Liability net of breakage and fees | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-28 | 5.243 | 24.096 | Gift cards; loyalty separate | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-31 | Not separately disclosed | 5,600 | Gift-card liability | |
| FY2026 | 2026-01-31 | Not separately disclosed | 2,941 | Deferred gift-card revenue | |
| FY2025 | 2026-01-31 | Not separately disclosed | 1,197 | Net of estimated breakage | |
| FY2025 | 2026-02-01 | Immaterial; unquantified | 1,100 | Liability approximate; breakage immaterial | |
| FY2026 | 2026-05-31 | Not separately disclosed | 636.7 | Deferred gift-card revenue before separately reported USD 31.6m deferred gift-card discounts; redemptions and breakage combined | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-30 | Not separately disclosed | 448.744 | Activations net of third-party fees | |
| FY2026 | 2026-01-31 | Not separately disclosed | 235 | Breakage not separately quantified | |
| FY2025 | 2025-12-30 | Not separately disclosed | 16.06 | Opening-balance revenue is not breakage |
Dates are issuer fiscal year-ends. These rows must not be summed into a national market estimate. Missing is not zero. [C01] [C18] [C13] [C14] [C15] [C20] [C08] [C09] [C04] [C06] [C11] [C10] [C07] [C21]
Starbucks reveals both the scale and the denominator problem
Starbucks’ card breakage series combines company-operated and licensed-store amounts. It increased from $144.6m in FY2020 to $222.4m in FY2025, with a decline in FY2024. That is recognized card revenue, not a measured cohort-loss percentage. [C01] [C02] [C03]
The FY2025 roll-forward reports $15,245.8m of additions and a $1,751.7m closing balance, but combines stored-value cards with loyalty Stars. Dividing card breakage by that addition row would mix scopes. The product also permits reloads, so it is not a pure non-reloadable gift-card benchmark. [C01]
F11. Starbucks recognized card breakage across two store channels
USD million
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
COMPANY DISCLOSURES: annual recognition, not cohort ultimate losses. The FY2020–2025 total is not a present outstanding balance. FY2021 contained 53 weeks; FY2020 and FY2022 contained 52 weeks. The two disclosed components are shown side by side; their sum is total reported card breakage.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Company-operated | Licensed |
|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 130.3 USD million | 14.3 USD million |
| 2021 | 164.5 USD million | 16.6 USD million |
| 2022 | 196.0 USD million | 16.7 USD million |
| 2023 | 196.1 USD million | 18.9 USD million |
| 2024 | 187.6 USD million | 20.0 USD million |
| 2025 | 200.4 USD million | 22.0 USD million |
T10. A combined roll-forward cannot supply a clean card-load denominator
Show data tableHide data table
| FY2025 component | USD million |
|---|---|
| Opening cards + Stars liability | 1718.7 |
| Cards + Stars additions | 15245.8 |
| Redemptions + breakage | -15199.5 |
| Other change | -13.3 |
| Closing cards + Stars liability | 1751.7 |
Arithmetic: 1,718.7 + 15,245.8 - 15,199.5 - 13.3 = 1,751.7. Mixed scope is preserved. [C01]
The income effect of an estimate change is visible in the footnotes
Cheesecake Factory’s FY2025 breakage was $24.5m, including $17.3m of additional recognition from reassessed redemption patterns. A separate $7.9m gift-card inventory write-down partly offset it; the company’s more precise pre-tax gift-card adjustment, net of the inventory write-down, was $9.396m. Compared with $187.285m operating income, that net adjustment is about 5.0%, an analytical comparison rather than a restated profit measure. [C14]
Chipotle reported $27.877m of breakage in 2025, up from $7.760m in 2024 and $1.162m in 2023. Its $20.1m year-over-year increase is disclosed, but is not identified here as an isolated estimate-change amount. The evidence supports a large recognition increase, not an assertion about its entire cause. [C13]
Brinker supplies the other direction: FY2024 breakage declined by $5.4m, which management attributed primarily to an estimate anticipating higher redemption. Its FY2025 audit treated breakage as a critical audit matter. Accounting estimates can reduce as well as increase reported income. [C17] [C16]
The two restaurant examples show why a breakage line needs its surrounding notes. Cheesecake Factory reported additional recognition alongside an inventory charge; Brinker described lower recognition after expecting more redemption. Reading the revenue entry alone would miss either the offsetting cost or the direction of the underlying estimate. [C14] [C17]
F12. Restaurant disclosures show different recognition paths
USD million
Tap or hover for details. Select a series above to show or hide it.
COMPANY DISCLOSURES: issuer fiscal years differ slightly. Lines compare recognized amounts, not abandonment rates.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Chipotle | Cheesecake Factory | Red Robin |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 1.162 USD million | 7.300 USD million | 9.874 USD million |
| 2024 | 7.760 USD million | 7.300 USD million | 7.930 USD million |
| 2025 | 27.877 USD million | 24.500 USD million | 5.243 USD million |
T11. What the disclosures do and do not explain
Show data tableHide data table
| Company | Verified statement | Do not infer |
|---|---|---|
| Additional $17.3m recognition after reassessment; $9.396m pre-tax gift-card adjustment, net of the inventory write-down | The full $24.5m was new cash or net profit | |
| Breakage increased approximately $20.1m year over year | All of the increase was an estimate revision | |
| 2024 decline primarily reflected higher expected redemption | Falling breakage necessarily means weaker card sales | |
| A 50bp assumption change implies about $3.5m FY2025 income sensitivity | 50bp is the company’s actual breakage rate |
A transparent roll-forward still needs careful labels
Brinker separates sales, redemptions and breakage in its roll-forward, giving readers more visibility than a single combined reduction. Even here, the liability is net of breakage and unamortized third-party fees. Its reported sales row should not automatically be treated as gross face issued. [C15]
Darden reports activations and a combined redemption/breakage reduction. Its FY2026 $751.9m reduction cannot be separated into purchases and breakage from that row alone. Target’s $849m addition is even easier to misread: it is current-year cards still unredeemed, net of breakage, not total annual gift-card sales. [C11] [C04]
F13. Brinker’s separately disclosed breakage fell before leveling off
USD million
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
COMPANY DISCLOSURES: fiscal-year amounts. FY2024 decline primarily reflected changed expected redemption.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Breakage |
|---|---|
| 2023 | 16.5 USD million |
| 2024 | 11.1 USD million |
| 2025 | 10.0 USD million |
| 2026 | 10.3 USD million |
T12. Brinker gift-card roll-forward, USD million
Show data tableHide data table
| Fiscal year | Opening | Sales as reported | Redemptions | Breakage | Other | Closing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 83.9 | 127.1 | 121.7 | 16.5 | 0.2 | 73 |
| 2024 | 73 | 122.2 | 119.5 | 11.1 | 0.2 | 64.8 |
| 2025 | 64.8 | 122.8 | 120.4 | 10 | 0 | 57.2 |
| 2026 | 57.2 | 127.4 | 121.3 | 10.3 | -0.2 | 52.8 |
Closing = opening + reported sales - redemptions - breakage + other; small rounding differences may occur. [C15] [C16] [C17]
T13. Three common extraction errors
Show data tableHide data table
| Filing row | What it is | What it is not |
|---|---|---|
| Darden FY2026: $751.9m | Combined redemptions and breakage | Standalone breakage or standalone redemptions |
| Target FY2025: $849m | Current-year cards still unredeemed, net of breakage | All card sales during the year |
| Best Buy: over 90% within a year | Timing of redemptions and associated recognition | Proof that over 90% of every issuance cohort is redeemed |
The research record is strongest on disclosure, weaker on universal rates
An original Journal of Accountancy review of 167 available 2006 filings found only eight companies separately reporting a breakage amount. Its disclosure categories overlap; they are not stages in a funnel. That historical snapshot documents opacity, but cannot establish today’s disclosure prevalence. [A03]
Gregory G. Kaufinger and Chris Neuenschwander’s 2025 paper, Exploring Voluntary Disclosure of Gift Card Breakage: Insights From Agency and Signaling Theory, examines 79 U.S. retail and restaurant firms across FY2013–2022: 790 firm-year observations. Table 2 records disclosure of a breakage amount in 173 of 395 observations before FY2018 and 194 of 395 afterward—43.8% versus 49.1%, an increase of 5.3 percentage points. These are reporting frequencies, not redemption rates. [A01]
The frequently repeated 2–4% retail breakage range comes from Audit Analytics’ July 2017 discussion of breakage revenue relative to gift-card sales. It is historically attributable; it is not a current, representative cohort benchmark. [A09]
The widely quoted fifteenfold result comes from a narrower model: 17 firms that changed disclosure behavior, totaling 170 firm-year observations. Table 9 reports an ASC 606 coefficient of 2.716 and an odds ratio of 15.116. Odds are probability divided by one minus probability; a fifteenfold odds ratio is not a fifteenfold probability. This selected-sample association neither establishes managerial intent nor measures consumer losses. [A01]
F14. Separate dollar disclosure was rare in a 2006 filing sample
companies out of 167
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
HISTORICAL ORIGINAL ANALYSIS: categories overlap; not a mutually exclusive distribution or current disclosure census.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Companies |
|---|---|
| Any gift-card information | 113 companies out of 167 |
| Revenue-recognition policy | 99 companies out of 167 |
| Gift-card liability separately | 51 companies out of 167 |
| Breakage policy | 53 companies out of 167 |
| Breakage dollar amount separately | 8 companies out of 167 |
T14. Reading research without upgrading its claim
Show data tableHide data table
| Source | What it supports | What it cannot establish |
|---|---|---|
| JofA 2007 filing review | Historical disclosure scarcity | Today’s breakage volume |
| 2025 disclosure study | Observed reporting frequencies; selected-sample odds ratio | Causal effects or consumer breakage rates |
| Audit Analytics 2017 | A dated reported 2–4% accounting ratio | A 2026 universal cohort rate |
| Milliman 2022 | Methods and program-specific estimation issues | An observed 10% industry benchmark |
Psychology can explain spending choices without measuring abandonment
Chelsea Helion and Thomas Gilovich’s 2014 paper, Gift Cards and Mental Accounting: Green-lighting Hedonic Spending, combines hypothetical choices, a laboratory experiment and store transactions. In the experiment’s 38-person analysis, the gift-card group spent 76% on hedonic items versus 47% for cash. Participants had to spend at least $5; this examined purchase composition, not abandonment. [A05]
The same paper followed 332 Cornell campus-store customers who used both gift and credit cards. Their average hedonic spending shares were 52% and 21%, respectively. The comparison holds the customer constant, but payment choice was observational and departments proxy for individual products. It does not measure permanently unredeemed value. [A05]
Spending composition and eventual redemption are separate outcomes. Evidence that a gift card encourages an indulgent purchase cannot establish a universal balance threshold or a deadline after which the money will never be spent. Estimating either requires tracking comparable balances over time, with redemption, refunds and expiry recorded separately.
F15. Gift-card spending tilted toward hedonic departments in one study
Measure: % of spending.
%
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
OBSERVED STUDY COMPARISON: matched-tender subset n=332, Cornell campus store. Department classification is a proxy; not a breakage study.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Average hedonic spending share |
|---|---|
| Gift card | 52% |
| Credit card | 21% |
A new 2026 study finds high non-use in a different product
Yixuan Liu, Hua Zhang and Eric Zou’s February 2026 working paper analyzes 4,616,004 consumers and 96,829 merchants on one Chinese merchant-prepayment platform during 2023–2024. Credits never expire. Approximately 40% of prepaid value remained unused after a year; treating it as permanent non-redemption requires inference beyond the observed follow-up. [A14]
For prepayments more than 12 months old at merchants still active in the final week of 2024, approximately 17% were wholly unspent and 17% fully spent. The remainder was partially used. These are transaction shares, not shares of monetary value. The reported median merchant ROI of 5.5 equals breakage divided by bonus incentives actually paid, minus one; it is not a full operating-profit measure. [A14]
These bonus-bearing credits were bought for personal use, limiting comparisons with U.S. gift cards. [A14]
F16. Partial use dominated one Chinese merchant-prepayment sample
Prepayments more than 12 months old at merchants active in the final week of 2024.
%
Tap or hover for details. All values are also available in the data table.
Source
February 2026 working paper, Figure 4D. Approximate transaction shares; 66% is the derived remainder. Not consumer or value shares.
Show data tableHide data table
| Category | Prepayment transactions |
|---|---|
| Wholly unspent | 17% |
| Partially spent | 66% |
| Fully spent | 17% |
Measuring breakage and its economics
The wrong denominator can manufacture a trend
Dividing this year’s breakage by this year’s loads can be useful as a clearly labeled accounting-intensity ratio. It is generally not a cohort breakage rate: the recognized amount can relate to older cards
Continue reading for free.
Create your account or sign in to get unlimited access.
No payment required. Newsletter signup is optional.
Already registered? Sign in